What do you think?

OK, I need some advice – is it me, or am I in a sock slump? 
219
The yarn is Regia Bamboo – I forget where I bought it (a small yarn store in PA).  The pattern is Dublin Bay – I saw it recently on Craftlily and thought it would make good train knitting.  Which it does.  Its great train knitting – nothing complicated, easy to memorize.  I am just not sure I like it in this yarn.  And I’m not sure I like the yarn.  I just thought it would stripe.  Because after all…this ball LOOKS like it should stripe, right?

220

This actually reminds me of KnitPicks Dancing – and I have a pair of socks made out of that I never wear.  I just don’t like the whole mottled look thing.  Honestly, why the hell did I think this would stripe?  Anyway….so I decided that I’d give them to Cieara.  Who gave them a look and that “um, oh, yeah, um, sure, they are nice….”.  So here I am again – I’m not crazy about them, Cieara isn’t crazy about them…time to send them to the frog pond, eh?  Anyone interested in the bamboo yarn?  Its yours!  I will say – it feels like I’m knitting cotton sock yarn.  Sort of interesting, but I think I’ll head back to wool.  I’m a bit scared though – I’m really not doing too well on socks lately.

I am clipping along on Ariann – believe it or not – I think I may finish it tomorrow.  I’m hoping.  I took the day off work (no, not to finish the sweater – I took it off before I realized I was this close…).  I may get up really early and finish it.  Its cold here today and through the weekend so I could wear it before it gets warm again.  I’m so excited.  And I’m starting to look for my next project….yes, yes, I know there are other things in the knitting basket, but they are for winter…and I’m thinking spring!  Just need to find the perfect yarn (I can’t believe I don’t have it in the stash, but I have mostly wool, and I’m thinking cotton/linen….anyone have any experience in this?)

12 Responses to What do you think?

  1. donyale says:

    Um, it looks like LOVELY yarn – just maybe that pattern and it aren’t on good talking terms yet.

    If you don’t get any other takers I would be interested – but if you want to do a swap I can look through my yarn stash and send you something in return.

  2. stitch-dom says:

    I’ve never tried the CotLin – I’m living credit card free these days so mail order is outof the question…which is a bit depressing but forces me to buy local which isn’t bad either.

    I like the sock yarn but I can understand if you don’t like mottled. And its pretty disappointing to end up without a stripe. Having tried to dye self-striping yarn I can tell you the the repeats have to be really really long for a decent stripe.

    I can’t wait to see your Ariann!!

  3. Opal says:

    I love the yarn! But if you were expecting it to stripe I can see why you’re disappointed. I suggest you put it away and pick a yarn that’s tried and true with a pattern that’s also an old and dear friend.

  4. rhoda says:

    you know, I’m on the fence about this yarn. It might be the pattern. I totally get your comparison to KP’s Dancing though. The colors do go well together..so hopefully it’s the pattern.

  5. Laurie says:

    Ariann is beautiful and fits you just AS IF you had done a gauge swatch!

    I don’t mind yarn that mottles. You need to use more STR or maybe the Jitterbug.

    Sounds like you need some more yarn in your “collection”. How about the 1824 cotton for a sweater?

  6. Terri says:

    I think the yarn is really pretty actually, but I do like earthy sorts of colours. Maybe it’s just how it looks on my monitor, but I think it’s nice. I actually prefer yarn that doesn’t stripe, so would think this was a success. Funny how different perspectives view the same thing. Hope you find something nice to knit new socks with. I haven’t tried that brand of cotton, but have enjoyed knitting with cotton over summer here. Get something in a nice happy spring colour and you’ll soon be buzzing along again. :o)

  7. Arleta says:

    It does look like it would stripe. Hopefully whoever gets it, likes it.

    Can’t wait to see your Ariann.

  8. hakucho says:

    I think it’s very pretty yarn…you just have to get the striping thing out of your mind and then you’ll like it better 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  9. misplacedpom says:

    Want to swap for my unloved Opal sock yarn? I have a 100g ball of Rainforest Chameleon (http://www.angelyarns.com/opal-yarn/opal-sock-yarn.php/yarn/93) that I really can’t see me using any time soon! It has broad stripes of blues and greens….

  10. susan says:

    Your sock mojo is just on spring break and is due back any day. Don’t worry, we all try yarn we think we’ll love and sometimes it doesn’t live up to it’s expectations. Sometimes I just go back to trusty solids just so I’m not dissappointed.

  11. […] A pressie from Jeanne – yum – (she didn’t like how it mottled when knit) […]

  12. gift unique gift gift idea birthday gift anniversary gift wedding gift gift basket 50th birthday gift corporate gift buy gift buying gifts

    Great website, nice tips, thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

