Got Gauge?

OK, I have to admit it.  I am terrible about gauge.  I think that when you have the right pattern and the right yarn, it will all just work out.  So why waste precious time swatching….I mean, the whole square thing – everyone knows that people just stretch it out to fit what its supposed to be (or is that just me?).  Ugh.  When I want to start a project, I want to start a project. 

But….I also have to admit that not doing a swatch has really bitten me in the ass.  I didn’t do one for Ariann, but I did measure once I had 4 inches done on the sweater (too bad about that the gauge was supposed to be done in stockinette and not in the pattern stitch)….and now I’m worried that it won’t fit me (I can always lose/gain weight, right?).   

The second sweater I knit was for Larry.  It was really beautiful – my first cables.  I made it out of Rowan Plaid in Stormy Night.  It really turned out well – Plaid is nice yarn – bulky weight, but so soft – its a merino/acrylic/alpaca blend.  I actually flew to California to have my mother show me how to do a cable (I owed her a visit) and I was so proud when it was done.  That was about 2 and a half years ago….and Larry’s worn it about twice (hey, Larry, newsflash – this is why Na Craga is sitting in the basket!).  I sometimes pull the sweater out of his drawer and pet it.  Sigh….

Rowan discontinued Plaid recently – I was so sad.  I always meant to buy some to make a sweater for me out of the same pattern book I knit his from.   Then I saw some on the DeStash blog….it was pretty cheap, but I wanted to see what it was selling for elsewhere.  Long story short….

209
Rowan Plaid in Moon Wave – bought it from eBay for a very very good price.   The color looked different online, and when I opened the box, I was a bit iffy on it….but I decided I like it.  Its grey, white, blue (looks a bit pink in the picture but its not).

So what does all this have to do with anything?  I did a gauge swatch.  I decided it was time for me to grow up and be a real knitter.  So here you go….and seeing this….I just fell in love with the yarn (Ariann?  What?  Huh?). 

RowanPlaid

This is going to knit up very fast – size 11 needles.  Which really feel like logs after knitting on US 1’s on the train (and 7 on Ariann).  So now its the big decision….which pattern?  I was thinking about this, but thought that the plain stitch would drive me mad, and then I liked this…but then I saw this – and this is the one!

lightninglg.jpg

Now- I wonder if I can make this in the round – I hate seaming…hmmmm

14 Responses to Got Gauge?

  1. tiennie says:

    I like it too! That yarn would be really pretty for that sweater.

  2. knitXcore says:

    how pretty! i really like your yarn choice too!

  3. rhoda says:

    I’m not much of a gauge swatcher either! glad to know I’m not alone. 🙂 that yarn is really pretty! I like the shade of blue. The pattern you’ve selected is gorgeous! Can’t wait to see how it turns out. 🙂

  4. Opal says:

    That will be gorgeous! I just love that sweater. I’m so glad you were able to get some of that yarn too.

  5. stitch-dom says:

    Gorgeous sweater choice! And congratulations on swatching. I would love to know if anyone out there likes swatching? I have my fingers crossed for your Ariann – it has caused too much trouble already. Therefore, it HAS to fit.

  6. hakucho says:

    Beautiful sweater…go for knitting it in the round, no seams would be wonderful!! (My big mouth…like I really know what I am talking about 😉 I have no idea how hard that would be to pull off!! )

    hapy knitting 🙂

  7. craftyminx says:

    Thanks! That sweater will be awesome!

  8. Asa says:

    Go for SPRAY – I like that pattern. The cable cardigan is also very cute. Good for you for swatching. I belong to those that haven’t grown up yet and have lived with the consequences…

  9. kerstin says:

    Oh I just love that sweater. It would be a quick knit on #11’s and it’s even called “Lightning.” : ) I don’t see why you couldn’t knit in the round… as I hate seaming too….but I’m no expert!
    kerstin

  10. Amber says:

    I always do a swatch (well, almost always, anyway ;)), and gauge still bites me in the ass. I don’t care what other people say, it’s an art, not a science. Heck, sometimes I think, for me, getting gauge is just dumb luck!

    I love the yarn (why IS it that Rowan keeps discontinuing all their good yarns???), and that sweater is gorgeous!

  11. Laurie says:

    You don’t want to grow up too fast but nice swatch!

    If you finish Ariann you can start 2 new projects.

    Think about it. 🙂

  12. misplacedpom says:

    I’ve recently started doing gauge swatches….. and then knitting the entire sweater without once checking so see whether the sweater matches the swatch. Doh!

    I really like the pattern you picked out, very purdy 🙂 But seaming! Am I the only one who actually ENJOYS seaming? It’s like magic!

  13. lobstah says:

    You DON’T KNIT GAUGE SWATCHES? *Clutches pearls*
    LOL. I tried to knit my first sweater out of Plaid and had the darndest time with it…sweater ended up way too huge. I love the yarn but I think the Rowan patterns use a gauge that is too loose for the yarn. Crossing my fingers that you get through that pretty sweater unscathed 😉

  14. Sara says:

    That cardigan is fabulous, and would be a perfect choice for the Rowan Plaid!

Leave a Reply

