Another Book

I am just about finished with my bluebell rib socks in Bearfoot – I should have them ready to show by tomorrow.  Just in time….I got the yarn that I ordered earlier this week…..I am not showing what I bought this time – I just can’t admit to the number.  More than 1, less than 1000.  That’s all I’m saying!    I’ll be sneaking in random skeins as projects so no one will ever know….

Anyway, I have also been working on the Flicker socks, but I think I’ll be casting on for a new pair out of the Favorite Socks book.  Sure, I could be working on Ariann, but I think I need to have someone take a look at it this weekend – I have a very bad feeling that I’m not doing the raglan decreases correctly.  So I’ll want some knitter support if I have to rip it back.

Tonight I thought I’d tell you about another book I bought – Friday Night Knitters Club.  I actually bought this at a bookstore.  I had heard some preliminary buzz about the book, but hadn’t read any reviews of it.  Note to self – read reviews first!  I was so disappointed in this book.   Its extremely rare for me to not finish a book, but the night before last I finally gave up….flipped to the end, rolled my eyes, and put it back on my nightstand.  Its just amazingly boring – my mind actually wandered the minute I started reading it.  The characters are completely unbelievable.  And I don’t think the author knits, knows knitters, has ever been in a knitting shop….she has people who don’t knit show up, week after week, at a knitting group.  I belong to a knitting group.  I can’t say I’ve noticed a bunch of non-knitters hanging out with us.   I’ve heard that Julia Roberts is going to make a movie out of this – for the life I me, I can’t figure out why.  Its really hard to care about any of the characters (and why do they constantly pump their arms in the air?  what does that mean and who does that?)….its just uninteresting and boring.  I think that’s the only word I can come up with.  Boring. 

I just went to Amazon to read the reviews…hmmm….looks like a lot of people like it.  So there you go.  One knitters “this is crap” is another’s “what a beautiful story”.  I will tell you – if you are looking for a good story related to knitting skip this one.  However, if you don’t believe me, or would like to check it out yourself, I would be more than happy to send you my copy.  Comment and let me know – first person that asks, gets it.  Really.  Postage is on me.  But if you hate it, I get to say “told you so”.  And if you love it?  Well, its a good thing we have other things in common!

I’m not working tomorrow (Yea!), so I’m sleeping late, cleaning up the house to get ready for my brother, and then knitting.  And knitting.  Maybe a nap.  But knitting.  So hopefully I’ll be able to post some progress pictures!

Remember – comment if you’d like to read the book.  And me?  Now I’m reading Amy Tan’s “The Bonesetter’s Daughter“.

7 Responses to Another Book

  1. Opal says:

    First off, I’m really not interested in the Friday Night Knitting Club book. The whole idea just kind of puts me off. Very kitschy.

    But, very good choice in your current reading selection. I adore Amy Tan and I loved “The Bonesetter’s Daughter”. She is one of my favorite authors.

    Have a fabulous day tomorrow! Knit knit knit!

  2. tiennie says:

    I have the FNKC on hold at the library – just curious about it. On the other hand, I love Amy Tan so will read anything of hers.

  3. Doesn’t sound like I’ll be wanting that book. I read the blurb and was immediately turned off. Blech!

    Bring the socks…and your new yarn…and we’ll help you out. 🙂

    Random projects, huh? Good luck with the sneakiness.

  4. hakucho says:

    That’s too bad about the book…very disappointing. 😦

    I know for me the best knitting books are the ones with PATTERNS in them 😉

    happy knittng 🙂

  5. rhoda says:

    ahhh, my sister picked this book up for me as an early bday gift..(may) so here’s to hoping that i don’t think it’s a waste of yarn money myself.

  6. jenifleur says:

    That book was a cliche fest. I got the preview copy free and I never reviewed it on my blog because I hated it and didn’t want to trash it there.

    And juila roberts SUCKS! So, fine, hopefully she’ll spend a ton of money on a movie nobody is interested in besides maybe 30 knitters.

Leave a Reply

