Books and books….

OK, well maybe book and book….came home today to that most wonderous thing…Amazon.com box!

favorite_socks2.jpg

This book is amazing.  I really didn’t know what to expect, and had heard both good and bad comments on it – but I already love it.  If I didn’t have two different socks going right now….anyway, the patterns are beautiful, and from some of my favorite sock pattern creators (artists is a better word)…Nancy Bush, Evelyn Clark, Ann Budd.  I want to make Retro Rib socks, Ilga’s socks (fair isle!), Mock Wave Cable….I really need to finish the ones I have going.

You know, its a good thing this book came today.  Last night, Emily updated her Etsy site – and it was a feeding frenzy.  I’m not going to admit how much yarn I bought (after all, I was really toying with that whole “not buying yarn until Maryland Sheep and Wool” thing again, and I don’t want to admit how bad my willpower is….should I distract you by telling you I’m on Weightwatchers now and had the best chocolate chip cookie yesterday?  Yumm….10000 points….).  Anyway, I think I officially have too much sock yarn now, and so its good I have a new book of patterns.

Another book was in the box…

lacestyle2.jpg 

I like this one too!  There are some beautiful patterns….look at the Ooh La Lace dress – amazing.    Can you even imagine?  If Ariann is taking me months, I’m pretty sure this dress would take me years.  And years.  I really like a couple of patterns though, and already I’m rummaging around mentally through the stash to see if I have something….Lily of the Valley shawl, Essential Tank Top, Tailored Scallops….sigh….I really need more time!

So that’s it – two new books for the shelves that are already overflowing.  I do love reading new knitting books though – so inspiring!    I had ordered the new Yarn Harlot book, but for some reason, Amazon couldn’t ship it to me until the end of May.  I’m sure I can find it elsewhere.

I’m taking off work Friday – my brother is coming into town so we need to try and defur the house as he’s allergic.  4 cats, 3 dogs – its definitely not a good place for allergic people.   So two more days of work….aaah…nothing like a short week!

By the way, thanks for all the nice comments on my last post.  I think its the most I’ve ever gotten on a single post.   IHOP was very good (another sterling example of my staying on track with Weightwatchers!), and we had a nice day.  I let her splurge on a Victoria’s Secret order (had to get that “free” tote), so she was happy.  All in all, a very nice Gottcha Day, and I appreciate all the good thoughts everyone sent.

9 Responses to Books and books….

  1. Opal says:

    I love the book Favorite Socks. I’m still a bit ambivalent about Lace Style though. Though it’sa beautiful book, I’m just not sure how many of the garments I’d use in my climate.

  2. rhoda says:

    ohhh, I have the Lace Style book too and there are a few things I’d like to start myself. I’m a bit slow with socks though I do admire them so and I’ve heard about this book and seen the kal.

  3. tiennie says:

    I love my FS book. Don’t have the other one – yet. Can’t wait to see what you knit from it.

  4. You don’t have to tell me how much yarn you bought. How about a photo when it ALL arrives? 😉

    Dumb Amazon. Why is everyone getting their books first? Service has truly gone downhill in the past few months.

  5. hakucho says:

    I love knitting books…I’ll have to go and check those books out! (I like to get them from the library before I ever think of buying them)

    happy knitting 🙂

  6. Silvia says:

    Hi Jeanne,
    thanks a lot for your comments on my blog 🙂 – you can easily become a designer, the only technique you need to master is how to frog often :).
    I have The Lace Style book on my list as well, mainly due to the Katherine Hepburn cardigan which is on my HOT list now. And I like the white socks as well, I hope one day I will be able to knit my first pair of socks :).
    best wishes, Silvia

  7. Old Knitter says:

    I have Favorite Socks and I love it….

  8. Terri says:

    That book is on my wish list. I need to let my hubbie know I have a wish list on Amazon. (g) But after my own little wool piggie splurge, I need to behave myself and NOT BUY ANY MORE WOOL. My name is Terri and I’m a wool pig. :o)

  9. susan says:

    Oh now I have to go and buy the Favorite Socks book. Have you been to the blog set up for it? Nice pics of finished socks. What’s 20 more “to do” patterns Right?

Leave a Reply

