Beautiful

174

                                         Saturday Sky
Its a beautiful (but cold) day here….storm has passed, and its time to dig out. 
177

I finally got the Black Bunny sock yarn in a ball and started the Flicker socks last night.  Great pattern (although my finger hurts from pushing the needle down for all the YO/SSK combos – I really need to figure out another way to knit).  I just want to sit and knit these all day…beautiful pattern, beautiful yarn!

 

170

Today is the 7th anniversary of the day Cieara came to live with us….we celebrate it as “gottcha day”.  We are so lucky that the planets aligned on the day that we were matched with her.  She’s a wonderful kid – not perfect, but she’s beautiful, funny, smart and although I am concerned that we are going to end up with 10 dogs because of her, we are proud of her and can’t wait to see what she does in the next 7 years.  Typical Cieara – we asked her what she’d like to do to celebrate – Broadway show?  Weekend in NYC?  Special dinner out?  Cieara thought about it – and picked IHOP.  Did I mention that she’s a little weird? (Did you notice her hat?  Handknit by Grandma!)
156

Climbing on my soapbox for just a minute….I was listening to the CNN yesterday and there was a segment on how the celebrity foreign adoptions are causing concern that domestic adoptions will decrease.  They went on to discuss how much better it is to adopt domestically because of medical record accessibility.    I thought they would mention older child adoptions, but they were only focusing on babies.    Any kind of adoption is good, but I think its important to remember that there are so many kids in foster care that are waiting for their forever families.  You can find out more here.   Its too bad that so much focus is on adopting babies from other places when there are so many children here that need a family.  Wouldn’t it be great if a celebrity adopted a child out of foster care and brought some media attention to it?  OK, climbing back off soapbox.

Have a wonderful Saturday!

20 Responses to Beautiful

  1. Michelle says:

    I agree with you…it’s important to remember that there are so many older children needing a family. I found your blog inspiring today. Thank you!
    Happy “Gottcha Day” to Cieara! Hope you have a great day!

  2. Happy Gotcha Day!!!!! And here, here. I totally agree – we really need to take care with all our children, not just the itty bitty babies. Have a great day – love IHOP!!

  3. Arleta says:

    That is so true! There are so many older children who need a family and love and they deserve it too!!

    Happy Gotcha Day! I hope it’s spectacularly great!!

  4. Asa says:

    Happy gotcha day – you are an inspiration.

  5. Opal says:

    Happy Gotcha Day! What an inspiring post. It is incredibly important to remember that there are so many older children here in our own country that are out there that need a special home. Thanks for bringing to the forefront of people’s minds.

    I love the way your Flicker is looking! Wouldn’t you know that’s the one pattern that I didn’t get from Cookie? Augh!

  6. Happy Gotcha Day!!!

    I think I’ve seen it on the menu at IHOP. Gotcha Day Special! It’s right under the Rooty-Tooty-Fresh-and-Fruity.

    What’s wrong with 10 dogs? 😉 And that weirdness? Might come from you!

    Flicker Bunny is coming along nicely.

  7. susan says:

    Oh that dog! Cieara you go girl. The world needs more animal lovers. You guys have a great family, love to stop by the blog and visit!

  8. rhoda says:

    happy gotcha day! It’s getting a bit annoying hearing about Angelina going to some third-world country to adopt yet another child. I couldn’t agree with you more–what about the kids in our own country–particularly the older children. Maybe we need to pressure Angelina to adopt someone that’s American. lol. Hope IHOP was fabulous! 🙂

  9. Terri says:

    Cieara is beautiful and no wonder you are very proud of her. Happy Gotcha Day! Yes, it would be wonderful if someone like Angelina adopted a child out of foster care in the US instead of from Vietnam.

  10. Chelle says:

    Jeanne, Cieara is a beautiful young lady (I’m sure both inside and out). How sweet of her to want IHOP instead of Broadway. Happy “Gotcha” day to both of you! You are so on-point about that adoption thing. Why ARE babies the focus? Maybe because they aren’t as marketable and sweet cuddy babies? I don’t know. But you are lucky to have C and she is lucky to have you as well.

  11. Chelle says:

    Oh, I forgot to mention, gorgeous socks too!!! I love that color . . . very lovely for spring. Lace is tough on the fingers/hands but so worth it.

  12. Elspeth says:

    I thought that too, particularly when Madonna adopted from Africa – a boy who has a father, no less. I thought there are tons of kids even from her hometown of Detroit that could use a home. But then again, she’s “not American” anymore, or so she would lead us to believe.

    Congrats on your anniversary!

  13. hakucho says:

    Sounds like both your family and Cieara were blessed by finding each other 🙂

  14. Rox says:

    Happy Happy Gotcha Day! 🙂

  15. tiennie says:

    Happy Gotcha Day! That makes me ridiculously happy.

  16. Amber says:

    IHOP? Cieara sounds like a girl after my own heart!

    Happy Gotcha Day!

  17. stitch-dom says:

    Beautifully said Jeanne – if that’s a soapbox you are standing on, its definitely a great one.

  18. LindaB says:

    Happy Gotcha Day!!!

  19. Rebekah says:

    IHOP! That is great. She sounds like a very special kid, and a very lucky one to have found you guys too!

    You are so right, every day there are a lot of kids in this Country that need great homes. Now if only we could get a celebrity to adopt one, then everyone would!

  20. Maia says:

    What a lovely story; thank you for sharing it. Cieara is a beautiful young woman. And she looks serious about her homework too.

    A young woman came into my life seven years ago when she was 17. Today she calls me mom and is such a large part of my life and my heart. She is in nursing school and thriving. I feel that I have played some small part in her success. I am so grateful for her; she is a special gift.

Leave a Reply

