Snow Day!

If you live anywhere on the East Coast of the US, you know that after a whole bunch of beautiful spring days, its snowing today.  And sleeting.  And cold.  Someone on the train last night told me that it meant that the Lion was eating the Lamb (this was after she cackled an inappropriate comment to someone (a stranger!) that said that he thought we were getting 6 inches) ….I think I ride the train with disturbed people (no – really – I do).  Anyway….snowy days mean that I get to work from home!  So while it did this outside..

171

I was opening this

167 168

Nice, eh?  Black Bunny!  I have been waiting all week for this yarn – the one on the left is a beautiful sage green…and I want to make Flicker.  I’m dying to make this pattern with this yarn.  So I was very happy to be home when the package came.  I ran upstairs (after taking pictures of course) to wind it, print the pattern, get the needles……I opened up the skein, and something had happened – it was tied in one place and the rest got messed up.  Larry has been helping me unknot it and hand wind it, but its been taking a while.  I had to take a break  – I have a limited tolerance for doing this (this is why there is some Schaeffer Anne in my stash in a huge rats nest).  But its almost done, and soon I’ll be able to cast on.  The yarn is gorgeous – I’ll post a picture of it on the needles – you have to see it.  If you catch when she has yarn available, you should get it – really beautiful.

Andrew comes home tonight for spring break.  I’m looking forward to seeing him (for the brief flashes I’ll get of him on his way in or out the door to see girlfriend/friend/….). 

Have you noticed that you automatically think of your blog when you see things?  That you reach for your camera to take a picture of something?  That even though its snowing…cold…..windy…..you have to take a picture of your cat BEFORE you let her in?

176

8 Responses to Snow Day!

  1. chris says:

    Yay for snow days – mine was productive, but not as fun as your’s – paperwork, markers and pins, oh my! Poor, poor kitty – looks like it needs a cuppa something warm!

  2. Opal says:

    Gorgeous yarn! I love sage green. I do think of my blog when I see things! What’s even funnier is that my mother has started to do that too. She’ll say something like, “Do you have your camera? That would be great for your blog!” Heehee!

  3. Asa says:

    Brrrr, cold kitty. Gorgeous yarn – I have to get some too.

  4. hakucho says:

    Very pretty yarn and a very cute kitty picture…I sure hope you let her in! I have one (my oldest) that just returned home for break (briefly to drop computer off) from college. Driving in the snow was bad – 2 1/2 hours for a normal 1 hour drive. Then he proceeded to his girl friends house. Still have to worry about him getting home safely tonight.

    Happy knitting with your new yarn 🙂

  5. knitXcore says:

    hahaha! poor kitty! you must have the biggest stash ever!!!!!! luckily, it hasn’t snowed here in SNJ yet.

  6. Terri says:

    Ah more snow. It doesn’t feel weird now. Until now we were still getting summer heat here and you were going into spring. Seems like balance has been restored, though I’m sure you wish spring was still in the air. It can’t be far off. I’m hoping for signs of cooler days and nights too, but no luck yet.

  7. rhoda says:

    yarn in knots..isn’t that always the way particularly when we’re so anxious to get started on a new project! can’t wait to see it on the needles. 🙂

  8. stitch-dom says:

    Awww…cute kitten. But maybe a bit chilly?

Leave a Reply

