Nothingness

134

Saturday Sky

I really wish I had a beautiful shawl to show you, or maybe new yarn….or a cute pair of clogs.  But I really have nothing to show.  Nada, zip, nuttin.  Its been a week – busy at work, busy at night.  So so glad its Saturday.

I woke up at 5:45 this morning….and immediately thought of getting up and knitting on Ariann.  I hate when I do this because that means I won’t be able to get back to sleep – so I did get up, but haven’t knit yet.  I am still loving this pattern, and hope that eventually I finish it.  I just really need to focus on it.  I didn’t do any knitting at night this week because we were trying to find our vacation house – we finally found it, and hope to get the lease to sign this weekend.  I’m very excited about it – sounds perfect and will be so different than what we normally do. 

I had to rip the Bearfoot sock back – I was knitting away on the train….did the heel flap, turned the heel, picked up the gusset on one side….did the instep….started picking up the next gusset and came across two dropped stitches from god knows where.  I thought about just picking them up the and weaving them in, but the whole thing was just weird.  I had been impatient so the heel flap was short and ended up just looking wonky.  So I frogged it.  Now I’m back and knitting down the foot.  I like it, I’m already trying to think of what to knit next sock-wise.  I love the Bearfoot but I think two socks in a row with the same yarn is my limit. 

I was listening to podcasts on the train yesterday, and had the latest KnitWit podcast on – damn – it was so sad that I was practically ready to cry.   I hate when that type of thing sneaks up on me – here I’m expecting yarn or knitting and what I get is lost cats.  Just a warning in case you listen to this.  Maybe I was just tired or something, but I really was bummed out after listening to it.

Speaking of new projects – I have been thinking.  I have Ariann and Na Craga that I really really want to finish.  Obviously Na Craga won’t be finished in time for Larry to wear it this year (or at least until next fall/winter), but its been in the bottom of the basket for so long and I really want to get it over with (always a good thought for projects – “getting it over with”).  So I really shouldn’t start a new project.  But I really really want to.  I’ve been fighting the urge for weeks.  I really want to start a shawl.  I have so much lace and fingering weight in the stash for shawls and I want to rummage around in the yarn, with my patterns, and pick something.  Its such a strong urge – I’ve been fighting it off because I want to finish Ariann but…..I also want to start the Drunken Argyle for Larry.  He could wear that soon for golf in the spring.  But I also think its going to take a while to knit (I think its DK weight, and its knit on small needles).  Hmmm…decisions, decisions….

I’m going to spin today, and then I have knitting group .  Yea!  Its supposed to start getting warmer as well – I can’t wait until I can sit outside and knit or spin.    I know I owe someone stitch markers, but I need to wait until someone is up to pick the person, and I need to get the stitch markers.  I promise – next time.

Have a happy Saturday!

9 Responses to Nothingness

  1. You can so have ariann finished in a week- just DO IT!!!!!! And what the hell, start the argyle – I’m totally going to enable you because you have just caused me to order MORE YARN! I don’t need more yarn. But I needed more yarn!

    Glad you secured the vacation retreat – can’t wait to give you the list of yarn stores you have to go to….

  2. hakucho says:

    I know how you feel…I’m always anxious to start my next project before I finish what I’m working on. I try to only have 2 things going at once and force myself to finish at least one before going on to the next. I wish there were more hours in the day to knit…there is never enough. 😦

    happy knitting 🙂

  3. Carry says:

    So sorry to have bummed you out. 😦 It was a hard story to tell but it is a pivotal point in my life. I had to tell that story so that I could tell others that relate to it. I had been putting it off for a long time. This weeks story is less depressing (I hope). 🙂

    Thanks for listening.
    Carry.

  4. tiennie says:

    I know whatcha mean about not having time to do your crafts right now. Life is exploding with busy-ness here. Hope you have time for some FO’s soon!

  5. Elysbeth says:

    Can’t wait to see what you chose for a shawl. I love shawls, until the 1/2 way point, then I Loathe shawls, then it’s blocked and worn, and I love shawls : )

  6. Asa says:

    I hear your knitting frustration – good for you for having the strength to start over. I would have simply added the sock to my stash… Stay strong, finish the current projects and if that doesn’t work, follow my mother’s remedy – drink a glass of water. (yes, it’s supposed to work for everything…)

  7. lobstah says:

    What a pretty photo you took! And, I am not trying to be an enabler but I can’t wait to see some lace, he he he. But really, finish the other stuff first. You’ll feel so much better. Or don’t (I’m just one of those super-practical types).

  8. stitch-dom says:

    The never ending cycle of UFOs! Everyone else has already enabled you so nicely that you probably don’t need any more help on that front…just a gentle reminder that this is supposed to be a hobby!

  9. Opal says:

    I’m glad to hear you’ve got your rental all lined up. I hope it has WiFi. I know what it feels like to have a project hanging over your head. You’ll feel so much better once it’s finished. BUT, this is a hobby, it’s supposed to make you happy. If it’s not, then what are you doing?

Leave a Reply

