Is it summer yet?

Larry and I started talk about summer vacation today.  We usually know by now what we are going to do, but this year was different as we were trying to figure out finances.    We decided that although its going to be a bit tight, we do want to do vacation – its important that we get time away to spend together and with the kids.  But where?  Somewhere relatively cheap, but fun….so I started looking online.  The problem with looking online is that I started with a cheap house in the Outer Banks….sidetracked to a Caribbean cruise….then went to look at Alaska cruises….Hawaii…..ended up in Maine.  No idea how I got to Maine from Hawaii, but somehow I did.  I went to Maine as a child – don’t remember much other than we stayed at a cabin on a lake and the water was really cold.  But it looks beautiful, and I think I’m going to talk everyone into it.  I saw a cute (and cheap!) rental on Deer Isle….but the Southern part of Maine has beaches.  Anyone have any input?

Yesterday I went yarn shopping with Laurie and Chris.  We went to three yarn stores – one was a waste, and the other two were much better.  I’m not going to bore you with everything that I bought…but just this.

120 121

Colinette Jitterbug in Jewel and Magenta (ok, not sure on the second one, but the yarn is upstairs and I’m downstairs and I’m lazy). 

I also roving  – Cherry Tree Hill roving in Jewels…and I started spinning it already.  Loving it – I’m going for laceweight.  I have 8 oz and think I should have enough, at least in a single ply, for a shawl. 
118

I really enjoyed spinning this morning – its been a while, and it was just peaceful.  Until I started looking at my bobbins and realized that I have something on all three bobbins now, and I better clean off two if I change my mind and want to ply this.  Sigh….maybe I should just order more bobbins.

I had a very nice time with Chris and Laurie – we had some time to knit together as well, and as always, it was fun.  Laurie is trying to teach me magic loop – I tried it 5 times before I put the needle away – I just can’t get it tight enough between the needles.  But I’ll try again – I think this method would be great for train knitting (I can’t tell you how many times I’ve dropped a DPN on the train and then contorted myself to pick it up before it rolls off).

I realized that I’ve shown pictures of my dogs, and Nala the cat on the blog…but I don’t mention the other animals I have.  I actually have 4 cats – Nala, Tom, Molly and Nipper.  Nipper is my oldest cat – she’s 14 (ish) and starting to slow down.  She’s a sweetie, and I thought I’d take her picture today and show you….

124 125 122 123

Now I remember why I don’t have pictures of Nipper on the blog….

So Laurie made some pretty stitch markers….and told me that if I generate enough buzz, she’ll give me a pair….so please go comment and tell her that I sent you so she gives me some? 

I’m working on socks again – nothing much to show at this point – and I may frog them – just not loving the pattern.  And of course I’m working on Ariann….I hope I’m done before summer! 

15 Responses to Is it summer yet?

  1. Nipper doesn’t seem to like the paparazzi. Watch out or she’ll go after your socks, too!

    I’m glad you’re going to talk everyone into going to Maine. A relaxing family vacation sounds nice. BRING ME ALONG! 🙂

    Don’t worry. Magic Loop will be your friend by the end of Saturday.

  2. stitch-dom says:

    I’ve tried magic loop – I love it for cast on and ribbing but I absolutely hate it for knitting the sock itself – I get the WORST laddering.

    You spinning looks divine…that would make a great shimmery shawl. I don’t know if it is the picture, but is there silk in there?

  3. knitXcore says:

    everyone is using jitterbug now! i have to catch up on cool yarn.

  4. Katie says:

    I went to Arcadia National Park in Maine last summer – it was beautiful. I’d thoroughly recommend it.

  5. Terri says:

    You always find the prettiest yarn. :o)

  6. Opal says:

    Have you tried 2 circulars? That solved the whole dropping a DPN problem for me. That Cherry Tree Hill roving is just gorgeous. Can’t wait to see your knit it up.

    I’m working on some socks that I don’t quite love either. I wonder if there’s something in the air.

  7. tiennie says:

    I hope you stick with the magic loop – no broken needles, no dropped needles, I think you’ll really enjoy it.

    No ideas on vacation for you on the east coast, I’ve never been.

  8. kraftie says:

    I spun my CTH roving into a lace weight ish…. and at the rate I’m going now I’ll have over 1000 yds and that’s plied.

    I think you’ll have plenty for a shawl.

  9. hakucho says:

    You bought some very pretty yarn. I wish I could learn to spin…guess i’ll just have to watch you do it! That will be a very pretty shawl and exta special because of the hand spun yarn 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  10. chris says:

    We usually go to Maine and New Hampshire every year – I highly recommend it. We rough it via camping, but they don’t call it Vacationland for nothing!

  11. lobstah says:

    Hi Jeanne, I was psyched to hear you had chosen lovely Maine for a vacation this year! I am in northern ME so I’m not an expert on the coast, but I do know that the Deer Isle area is lovely. You would be near Camden, Belfast, and Blue Hill which are all cute little seaside towns, plus Bar Harbor/Acadia (although traffic can be horrendous–plan to go there during midweek), plus you can take a ferry out to the islands of Vinalhaven or Isle au Haut (which has neat hiking). However, the ocean in that area definitely does not have much in the way of sandy, nice beaches (I think there is one little one in Bar Harbor). If you want sandy beaches you are better off down anywhere south of Portland. That area is a bit more tourist-trappy (not too bad though).
    Also, I don’t know when you are planning to go but it tends to be very cool year-round on the coast. July and August are the only times that you would have warm enough days to sunbathe. Bring plenty of sweatshirts for the evenings!

  12. Rebekah says:

    Oh I’d love to go to Maine! I think that sounds like a perfect summer vacation. Plus not so touristy I would think. Although I’m sure it’s touristy, but not like going to hawii or Walt Disney World.

  13. Asa says:

    What beautiful yarn. You are such an inspiration – I simply have to take a class in spinning and get to it. Maine sounds great for summer vacation. I’m from British Columbia and we often visit one lake or another for our summer trip for a bit of R&R.

  14. Lisa says:

    Ah-Ha! Spinning is contagious! Those jewel tones are going to make a stunning shawl. And I say buy more WW bobbins, you only live once, you can’t take the money with you when you die, and you deserve more WW bobbins!

  15. Margit says:

    Your spinning looks great! What fiber is that? Is it silk?

Leave a Reply

