Knitting Pals

I know that I’m not the first to post this type of thing, but I just wanted to post how lucky I am to be a knitter in today’s knitting community.  When I talk to my mother about knitting, its pretty obvious that she never really had a knitting community – other than her yarn store – and even then, that was just discussions about patterns and yarn with the owner/workers, and not actual friendships.  I think that’s why she’s so excited about my knitting – she finally has someone to talk to about it – someone who “gets” it and who is equally excited about patterns, yarn and all knitting type things.   Its a lot of fun to talk to her and its been sort of interesting when she asks me about something and I know the answer.   And I like that its something we share.  She tells me stories about her grandmother who was a knitter, and I get a sense of connection with her, and her grandmother that I don’t think I’ve ever felt before. 

So why am I going on about all this when its all been said on different blogs?  Because tonight I really realized the true value of knitting friendships.  OK, I’ve known it before – but tonight – tonight was just ….

I finished the second sleeve on Ariann….and I was all excited – I picked up the body to attach the sleeves…hmmm….

Left Front, PM, Sleeve #1, PM, Back, PM, Sleeve #2, PM, Right Front

WTF?  What does “sleeve #1” mean?  I’m just not getting it.  Let’s see the sleeve has 72 stitches, with 10 cast off…the body has all these stitches but 10 cast off under the arm…maybe I’m supposed to match the cast off sides and stitch them together…what does the next line say..what?  where the hell is page 4…….ugh.  I had no idea.  So I decided to look on the ‘net – I’m sure someone posted how to attach the damn sleeves.  No.  Just pictures of the sleeves attached.  I went back to the pattern – how can it not provide instructions on how to attach the sleeves?  What a stupid pattern.  No wonder I knit socks.  And with that it went back in the basket.

Then I saw Laurie online…IM’d her and whined about the stupid pattern.  And then she said the magic words….”you knit across the sleeve” (or something like that) – and instantly the light went on (funny thing was Laurie actually said “I see the lightbulb just came on”), and I could see what I had to do!  Amazing!

108

Thanks, Laurie!

12 Responses to Knitting Pals

  1. tiennie says:

    How awesome that you have that with your mom! It’s great too to have knitblogging friends to help out and encourage you. I love that!

  2. chris says:

    It’s beautiful!!! I knew you could do it!

  3. rhoda says:

    we are all lucky to be knitters in today’s knitting community! 🙂 and your ariann looks great!

  4. Rebekah says:

    You are so right, the knitting online community is wonderful. This morning I was going on about a desire to knit doilies even though I have no need for doilies, etc. and everyone commented some feeling the same way, etc. It’s just fun to share something with so many others. But let’s face it the people in our daily life have no idea what it means to be a knitter.

    I love that my sister is now a knitter because we can chat patterns. And talk about our grandmother who was a crocheter. Our mother is not a crafty person, but she loves that us girls are.

  5. Opal says:

    It is great to have such a wonderful community of knitters. I’m especially grateful for the friendship I’ve made with you. Anyway, now I’m a little nervous about the Ariann. Not that I have the yarn for it or the time for it, but I’ve really been wanting to make it.

    I loved hearing about the connection you’ve made with your mother through knitting. My mother doesn’t knit, but she does cross-stitch and sew. It’s a great bond we share, our love of crafting.

  6. Asa says:

    The Ariann looks beautiful. I’ve just started blogging and have already found the online knitting community open and encouraging. Here’s to new friendships.

  7. Aw shucks! You’re so welcome!!!

    I’m usually the one asking the questions so when I was able to help, I felt really happy.

    You going to wear it on Saturday? At the very least you have to bring it with you. She looks beautiful so far.

    And I’m grateful for you, too!

  8. hakucho says:

    I have found the nicest friends through blogging…I’ve been having so much fun 🙂

    Your Ariann is reallly beautiful…you chose such a pretty color 🙂
    You are quite the sock knitter as well…just lovely!

    happy knitting 🙂

  9. Arleta says:

    I am so thankful for the knit blogging community.
    Your Ariann is looking great! I love the color. I’ve probably said any time you’ve shown a pic of that yarn. Great color! 🙂

  10. knitXcore says:

    sometimes technology is beautiful.

  11. craftyminx says:

    The online community is awesome! Thanks for the shawl compliment. Its made out of knitpicks bare lace weight.

  12. Kristina says:

    Hi y’all. I have a favor for anyone who can help…
    My mom made me a baby blanket before I was born and has since lost the pattern. I am expecting now and she wants to make the same pattern for my child…Is there anyone out there that can look at pictures and determine the pattern?…this is really important to my mom, and it would be a fabulous mothers day gift! 🙂
    thanks so much.
    email me at kking6182@gmail.com
    -Kristina

Leave a Reply

