IM

Isn’t it funny how kids pick up on things? I was chatting with Andrew over IM this weekend, and he told me that someone in his class was knitting:

XXXXX (5:55:37 PM): she was making gloves
XXXXX (5:55:52 PM): she had that weird triangle thing going with the needles
XXXX (5:56:01 PM): so i thought it was a sock
XXXXX (5:56:06 PM): but then she put it around her wrist
XXXXX (5:56:20 PM): so i guess it was gloves or something

I thought it was cute that he knew the weird trangle thing going with the needles meant socks. He was puzzled why I thought it was cute – he said that he knew that socks were my knitting preference and so he’s seen it a million times.  I just thought he never really noticed what I work on.

I read today on Knitters Review that you shouldn’t take pictures the same way over and over because blog readers will get bored….so I’m going to need to figure out new creative ways to take pictures.  However, being that I still am feeling crappy, I’m going to bore you by showing you the same background….
104

I cast this on Saturday and finished it today – amazing, eh?  Its Bearfoot – garter stitch rib or something like that.  Great yarn – and it went really fast.  But rather than casting on for the second, I went back to Ariann – I really want to finish it before the winter ends. 

I have a new yarn shop I’m stalking – Mystical Creation Yarns.  I haven’t bought anything (yet), but the yarn looks really nice and very reasonable prices.  Anyone have experience with this store?

12 Responses to IM

  1. Chelle says:

    Jeanne, That is a gorgeous sock. And I can’t believe how fast you did it!

    Andrew sounds like a good kid. isn’t it great when kids are interested in what we’re doing knitting wise? And he noticed someone else making the “triangle thing” – that’s too cute.

  2. Opal says:

    I think it’s great that Andrew is so knit savvy! Gorgeous Bearfoot! I love the colours. So far I’ve not gotten bored with the way you take pictures. Hrm. I better mix it up with my picture taking!

  3. Terri says:

    Wow, you really are steaming ahead on the sock production line. Or maybe it just seems that way to me. Your pictures don’t bore me either. They just encourage me!!! :o)

  4. tiennie says:

    I’m not bored by your pictures! I’ve been coveting Mystical Creations too but haven’t yet ordered anything. The weird triangle thing is too funny!

  5. Maybe Knitter’s Review should come by your house and take the pictures for you!

    As long as you knit different things, why should anyone be bored??

    You KNOW I have Mystical Creations Wool/Silk so just keep your pants on. You’ll fondle it on Saturday.

    Now have some Chicken Soup!

  6. Nanette says:

    The sock is lovely – I hope you feel better soon!

  7. Rebekah says:

    That is really funny about your son, and it’s nice someone in college was knitting.

    And what a gorgeous sock, I think next time I photograph socks I’m going to hang them from my year.

  8. Arleta says:

    That is the cutest conversation! My kids notice knitting things, too. Your sock looks great.
    Feel better!!

    ps thanks for the bday wishes for my skaterpunk!

  9. Lucinda says:

    Andrew is a very observant guy!

    But I’m not sure I agree about the blog pictures. I like pictures where I can actually SEE the knitting pretty well. Some people don’t have a lot of choices for places to photograph knitting that meet that requirement, especially if they can’t take pictures outdoors due to weather.

    Pictures taken every two rows on the same item in the same spot to “show progress” — especially on something huge where two rows is hardly anything, that would be boring. & it would still be boring even if the spot where it was taken was varied around in each shot.

  10. lobstah says:

    Bwa ha ha, like we all have time to arrange a fashion shoot for our knitting featuring all of the latest and greatest photographic tricks? OK, there are a few blogs out there that have amazing pictures but when I see them I frequently wonder if they are shut-ins who have all day to perfectly arrange and photograph things, or what? 😉

  11. susan says:

    We won’t get bored because of similar backgrounds! Heck I’m lucky if I get around to posting pics. I am going to have to drag out my Bearfoot because that looks like a comfy sock.

  12. Karen Austin says:

    Mystical Creation Yarns…. really really really nice yarns. I use them a lot and now do design work with their yarns for the spring line. I have enjoyed all the yarns. Sock yarn is fingering weight and the wool silk yarn is so much better than the Noro Silk yarn. It is bulky weight and thick/thin texture. Anyway, if you have any other questions regarding the yarns email me. karen

Leave a Reply

