I’m back!

I had a wonderful time in California – and yes, I did fine on the plane (but thank you all for your nice thoughts). 

California was beautiful – amazing how you can just go from 7 degrees in the morning to 70+ degrees in the afternoon.   I went from an ice storm to oranges on trees (I brought oranges home for the family and they are delicious!)….

054

I visited family (brothers, sisters, nieces, nephews) and had a fun time driving back and forth along the freeways.  I found the freeways fairly stressful – all the traffic and 7 lanes.  I think I prefer my little country roads.    The weather was so nice – this weekend it was around 85-90, and people were walking around in shorts (and bathing suits at the beach!)

I spent a lot of time with my mother – talking, shopping, lunching, knitting.  Yesterday, we went to Laguna Beach for lunch and yarn – more on the yarn in another post.   We had lunch at Las Brisas – if you are ever in the area, try this restaurant.  Its my favorite – the food is very good, and the views – just beautiful.  Afterwards, we took a little walk to look at the beach….

062

But mostly I talked my mother into starting several new projects….including a shawl made from some really nice linen yarn we found at the shop in Laguna Beach. 

 074

So my mini-break was very nice, but it was good to get off the plane at Newark and see Larry.    Poor guy – he was sick with a stomach virus and didn’t have anyone to take care of him (although I was a bit relieved to not be there since I really don’t like stomach viruses!).    Pictures of knitting and yarn next time!

8 Responses to I’m back!

  1. tiennie says:

    Glad you had a great time!

  2. Opal says:

    Welcome back! I’m so glad you had a great time! I look forward to the yarns you have to tell. 😉

  3. Yay!!! You’re home!!!!! We missed you!!! Can’t wait to hear more and catch up. Where’s all the yarn?

  4. Glad you’re back. After all, we’ve got PLANS! I’ll pick up my oranges on Saturday. 😉

  5. stitch-dom says:

    I’m so glad you had a great time and got to relax a bit! Now…where’s the yarn baby!? To hell with pretty beach pictures, you know we’re all itching to see the good stuff.

  6. lobstah says:

    Oh, that looks so lovely. I really wouldn’t mind going somewhere warm for a long weekend, even though I don’t mind winter 🙂 Poor Larry, though I agree with you that I’d rather not be around someone with a stomach virus (i always seem to catch them, gross.)

  7. Terri says:

    Welcome home! Glad you had a great time in the warmer weather. Sounds like you enjoyed yourself. The photos are great. Nice to have you back.

  8. Arleta says:

    What great pictures! Sounds like a nice time. The freeways, I could do without, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

