Sock Zen

Since I can’t figure out what I want to knit next, I decided to try and finish some of my current projects.  So last week I was very focused on finishing my Green Zen socks on the train – and I finished them up last night. 

034

Pattern:  3×3 cable with moss stitch, Sensational Knitted Socks
Needle:  US1 DPN
Yarn:  Green Zen, Sophie’s Toes
Started:  12/16/06
Finished:  2/12/07

I have to say that the pictures just don’t do this yarn justice – its darker and very beautiful.  I really think Emily does a great job in dyeing her yarn, and I’ve loved all of the yarn I’ve purchased from her and highly recommend her.  She’s sold out right now, but I think she’ll be posting updates to her Etsy store near the end of the month.  She sold out really fast last time – doh!  I was hemming and hawing about which color I wanted and it was gone by the time I made up my mind.  Hate that!

It definitely took me a long time to finish these – mostly because I wasn’t working on them consistently.  But when I finished sock #2 I realized that there is a problem with taking too long ….or a problem in not checking the first sock when doing the second.  When I got to the heel on the second sock, I remembered that I had done an eye of the patridge heel – it was my first and I remember thinking how nice it was.   So I did that, clipped along, finished.  

037 

Nice, eh?  I really like this heel (sorry its dark – I took it in daylight but didn’t realize how dark it came out – and my camera batteries died so I can’t retake – but this is actually closer to the color of the yarn).  Anyway, after I finished, I dug out the first sock from my knitting basket to take pictures….and realized….

038

Yep – plain heel.  Apparently with a bit of a garter stitch border.  God only knows what pair of socks I thought I did the other heel on. Frankly, I’m starting to think I didn’t use it at all but saw it on someone’s blog which would be scary since it means I probably just crossed some weird line in mental health!  But back to the socks….I’m not ripping out the foot and redoing one of them – they are for me, and I don’t mind the mismatch.  But lesson learned!  Next time I’ll probably look at the first sock before doing something on the second!

I’m working from home today ….well, I will be as soon as I post this, shower, eat breakfast….and really hoping that it snows tomorrow.  If it does, then I’ll work from home tomorrow as well – and then I’m off for 4 days!  I am going to California to spend some time with my mother – leave Thursday, come home Tuesday.  I’m looking forward to it – its always nice to spend time with her.  And I thought I’d take her here – she usually only goes to one yarn store, so I thought I’d find her a new one.

So the only projects I still have now are Ariann, Na Craga and Maple Leaves scarf.  I’m thinking that I’ll take Ariann with me, alone with the Maple Leaves scarf for the plane.  And I’m going to start a new pair of socks for the plane too (what if I get bored?).  Not sure what – need to look at the stash, but I’m thinking of either a very simple pattern that won’t require me to look at a pattern, or something not so simple like this, this or this.  We’ll see – really depends on the yarn.  But I think that perhaps a more challenging pattern will keep me occupied for the 6 hour flight.  Any thoughts?

13 Responses to Sock Zen

  1. Congrats on finishing the Zen socks. Now you’ll remember which sock is the left one and which is the right. :-O

    Go with the Hedera sock. You can start the “wave”. Then, if you’re feeling lucky, do the Potatomatomatomas sock.

    Have fun with your Mom. Don’t let her buy fun fur!

  2. LindaB says:

    Hope your trip out west goes great! Loks like your timing will be just right:) Love those gorgeous socks!!

  3. Lisa says:

    The socks look great, and never mind about the heels, its just a fun little story and you’ll always remember knitting them.

  4. Amber says:

    I agree. Beautiful socks, and no one but you will ever notice that the heels are different. Plus, it makes a great story! 🙂

  5. chris says:

    Those socks are just beautiful – don’t worry – now you can officially have a left and right and be able to tell them apart because of the different heels – isn’t that the way you planned it?
    Have a safe trip and have a great time at that yarn shop!! Maybe you’ll get on tv or see a celebrity knitter!

  6. craftyminx says:

    Very Pretty! I love that book so much!

  7. Donyale says:

    Funny – last night I started on my first Partridge heel…love the sock colours.

  8. Opal says:

    Gorgeous socks! I just adore green. I think any of Cookie A.’s patterns will work. They’re so intuitive. Why not take 2 pairs of socks along? Bwahahaha!

  9. Terri says:

    The socks are GORGEOUS despite the mismatched heel. I had to smile because that is SO like something I’d do. All three of those sock patterns are on my to-do list – I don’t know which I’d chose either. Enjoy your visit with your mother!!

  10. knitXcore says:

    i like the garter stitch border…. and it looks sturdy.

  11. Rebekah says:

    Oh I love those socks! They are really beautiful, I can only imagine what they must look like in person!

  12. lobstah says:

    Oh wow, that yarn is such a beautiful color, even in the photos. Too funny about the heel though!

  13. susan says:

    Wow you have been knitting girl! I used the eye of partridge heel on my latest socks. I have to carry my first sock with me or I’ll forget in a minute how I made them. Have a great trip. Safe travels.

Leave a Reply

