New Stuff

I worked from home today (yea!) – got a lot done, and it was really stress-free (for the most part).  So I was able to be home when the mailman pulled in the driveway with a box…

I ordered KnitPicks Options needles – I have heard nothing but good about them, and thought that a set like this would be good since it has just about any size I’d ever need.    I saw them in person last week at knitting group, and loved the cable – so thin and flexible!   So much nicer than some of the bamboo circs I have that have really stiff cables.  I bought extra needles (size 6, 7 and 8 ) and a couple of extra cables.

014

I also ordered a ball of Knit Picks Swish – I wanted to check it out myself.  I’ve heard good and bad about this yarn…

011

So far I like it!  This is Fired Brick, and I started the Calorimetry from Knitty.  The yarn sort of reminds me of Cashsoft – very soft and squishy.  I can really see a sweater made from this yarn.  I’ve read mixed reviews of how it wears – its superwash, but I saw one review that said it really didn’t hold up well to machine washing.  So I’m going to make this one small thing, and see how it goes. 

While I was upstairs working today, Larry was downstairs working and babysitting my laptop as he upgraded it from Windows XP to Vista!  So when I was done working, I got to play….and whine “I don’t know where anything is” (which made Larry really glad he upgraded me I’m sure).  But I am getting used to it…and its sort of cool.  So here is my desktop now – there is a switch windows thingy that lets you see the windows like this, and you click to select the one you want.    And see the right hand?  That’s my gadget bar…with my contacts, pictures, headlines….very cool. 

desktop

It really is helpful being married to an tech-ie type person….Larry is looking at my PDA and Needletrax to see if he can figure out a way to put the yarn inventory on my PDA.    That way I would be able to check it in a yarn store before I bought more…”hmmm, I already have 1200 yards of worsted, so I don’t need to buy more”.  Come on, stop laughing – it could happen.  OK, it probably would never happen – but at least I’d have the ability to see what I have before I buy more of it!

It started snowing here around 4:00 – pretty when I don’t have to drive home in it.  Nala is very happy she’s inside where the fire is warm!

012

7 Responses to New Stuff

  1. Opal says:

    Oh I love that colour Fire Brick! I have yet to wash my sweater made in Swish and now I’m really nervous about it. Eek.

  2. chris says:

    Excuse me missy – didn’t you just work from home on Monday????? I”m very jealous and I can’t believe it started to snow 20 minutes after I got home from work. Hrumph! There was an accident on my road right before my house – LOUD NOISE! STATIES! No one was hurt, but it made me and the dogs jump a mile. What about this Monday???? HUh?? HUh??

    Windows Vista looks neat – we’re waiting a bit, but it sounds like a lot of good suff.

  3. Sure, flaunt your Vista. It looks really cool! I’ll tell Tom about the separate laptops for work and play. I’m sure he’ll go for that in a big way.

    GO CALORIMETRY!!!! Can’t wait to see you wearing it at the next meeting.

    Nala has the right idea.

  4. Arleta says:

    Ooh, nice upgrade!
    I use my options all of the time. I think they’re pretty great.

  5. tiennie says:

    Cool stuff!

    No, no, no! Don’t put your inventory on the PDA. How can you “accidently” buy more yarn if it’s all right in front of you?

  6. stitch-dom says:

    How lovely for you to have a day at home – and let us know how the options work out for you!

    Don’t you wish you could be a cat?

  7. Lisa says:

    Oohhh, Options Needles! Aren’t they the best?

Leave a Reply

