It seemed like such a good idea…

It really did – buying the nice washer and dryer – until I went to felt the hat tonight.  Ugh – front loader.  I read a couple of blogs – didn’t seem like it went too well.  I found a bunch on knitters review – that was more positive, but  I was worried about the having to have it run through the full cycle – I wasn’t sure how much it needed to felt.  So I decided to hand felt it. 

Filled up the laundry room sink, added in some Kookaburra and threw in the hat and started kneading it.  Damn!  That water is hot!  The red started bleeding, and I started to worry about a huge, pink pirate hat for my 22 year old son.  But it was pretty hot.  So I made Dan help (it is his hat after all, right?)

PIc 131

He kneaded it for a while – I changed the water a few times and fortunately, the bleeding seemed to slow down.  But it wasn’t felting much – I think hand felting probably takes more time than I am willing to spend on a week night.  So I decided to throw it into the dryer.  That worked…but….it shrunk/felted the top, and not the bottom…

PIc 132

So it was getting tight around the top of his head, but a flaring type bottom.  Hello Yarn would be appalled if she saw what I did to her pattern.  Dan is continuing to insist that he likes it, so its his.  We’ll see if he wears it or if it gets “lost”.  Great pattern, though – and I think I want to make one the right way…you know, with the right yarn.

I would like to thank everyone for the kind words of sympathy….so nice to know that I’ve provided you all with some laughs too….I have to say, though…I think I’m going to ask Laurie to spend some time with me next time I see her and explain this whole “gauge” thing.  I think its pretty obvious that I’m not getting it…

I am so disapppointed that its not going to snow here tomorrow – I was so hoping for a snow day.   But looks like we aren’t going to get anything, so I guess I’ll go into work.   What a bummer.

11 Responses to It seemed like such a good idea…

  1. Opal says:

    I’m so sorry that this project didn’t work out for you. My heart really goes out to you. I think the hat is pretty big just on it’s own. On the bright side of things, your colourwork rocks the house. 🙂

  2. Ow! Hot water! You are very brave – and once again -you could have jumped in the car and had a cuppa with me while we stuck in my top loader.

    My kids keep telling me that’s how hats are supposed to look so I think it came out just fine!

  3. Amber says:

    Awwww. I think that it is sweet that he said he likes it. Those are the best kind of people to knit for — people who really appreciate what you make for them. Your colorwork is beautiful, and maybe that is the style for hats now? Or maybe he’ll start a trend!

  4. Rebekah says:

    Except for being a little bit too big still I think it looks great. The pattern really pops out more now that it’s been felted!

  5. You might have saved yourself some discomfort using rubber gloves but still very brave of you to try to hand felt it. It doesn’t look pink. And he can sleep with it on and no one will know!

    I haven’t had problems with felting in my top loader, as long as it’s not a large piece (16″ x 24″ carpet bag comes to mind). Just set it not to spin at the end of the HOT/COLD wash/rinse.

    Thanks for making me smile. I really needed it.

  6. tiennie says:

    Awww….I still like it!

  7. Rebecca says:

    I am chuckling away here, I have just read back on the whole hat saga, thank you so much for sharing, my husband has no idea why I am giggling manically over here. I considered reading your hat posts out to him but he never seems to enjoy these knitting stories as much as me…

    Thanks for your comment on my latest knitting. If you haven’t tried KSH yet then you may have a treat in store.

  8. knitXcore says:

    i can’t wait to start the mitten that go with this hat! maybe i will felt them like your hat…. hmmm….

  9. Arleta says:

    Oh, man! And it looks so cool, too! I wish I could send you some snow, we have tons!

  10. Lisa says:

    I have only ever felted in my washer, and it’s a front loader. I don’t know if your’s has the option, but I use the short wash cycle on delicate fibers like merino, and the regular on tougher fibers like generic wool or Kraemer’s Mauch Chunky yarn. The purple hat I just finished is all merino and I had to run it through the short wash cycle twice. Give it a try. With a little practice I figured out how to get the washer door open by stopping the cycle (and waiting about 30 seconds for the lock to release) so I can check it during the wash.

Leave a Reply

