Stash

I was listening to the Unwound podcast tonight on the way home (by the way, I do like this podcast and would recommend it).  Kelly has listener polls, every time she has a podcast and the last one was about 2007 knitting resolutions.  One listener said something about how she was going to try and manage her stash like a lot of people out there this year.  But rather than saying she wasn’t buying yarn at all, she said she was only going to buy if she had a project in mind.  It sort of made me laugh – that’s totally my type of yarn diet.  I always buy yarn when I have a project in mind – so no problem there, right?  I don’t really just acquire yarn for no purpose.  Really.

But then….I started thinking about it.  And I realized that although I frequently do buy yarn with a project in mind, I also, just as frequently buy it without even a clue as to what to do with it.  It really just depends where I am.  Or where I’m shopping from.  Or….if someone has a picture of it on a blog.  Or….if someone has it at knitting group.  Oh hell, frankly, I’m a complete impulse yarn buyer and I think its a miracle I ever buy it with a project in mind.

So…how about some pics of the yarn I bought this weekend at the Mannings  (only one project in mind for this batch!)?

Some Baby Ull to make Drunken Argyle for Larry

PIc 087

Not too exciting?  OK, how about these?

PIc 104

C.W. Ewe  – DK weight – Larry picked this out, but unfortunately I didn’t really look at it and it isn’t enough for a pair of socks.  I sent the Mannings an email, and hopefully they can send me another skein.

PIc

Koigu!

PIc 110

Mountain Colors Bearfoot!

Nice, eh?  But the next…this is the yarn.  This is the yarn I kept on pulling out of the bag and looking at….

PIc 109

This is Claudia Hand Painted…100% silk laceweight.  Freaking amazing.  Really.  Colorway is Black Walnut and its just so beautiful.  Its 1100 yards, so it will make a decent sized shawl.    And I don’t have any clue on what to make with it.    And that’s ok.  Someday the perfect pattern for this will pop into my mind, and I will make a beautiful whatever with it.  And I will remember the weekend away….so its not just buying yarn – its making a memory.  Hey, that’s really good, isn’t it?  Hmmm…I need to remember that the next time I tell Larry that I’m going on a yarn crawl. 

I am clipping along on the Ariann sleeve – I decided to just start the pattern where I was – and it doesn’t look too weird.  I am really looking forward to finishing this and wearing it.   It really is a nice pattern, and I think I’m going to look at other patterns on ChicKnits – I’m really impressed with this one.  Maybe the Ribbi Cardi for Cieara?

11 Responses to Stash

  1. It’s all beautiful…..but my heart nearly stopped at that Claudia Handpaints – OMG. It’s just gorgeous. And the shawl that popped into my head for it – Mountain Peaks. I don’t know why. But I might have to get some to make it with – you are such a good enabler and I am such a good Lemming!

    Highly recommend Ribby Cardy – I have it and have made it and it’s a great knit – and would look great on Cieara.

  2. tiennie says:

    Beautiful yarn – it’s so hard to resist beautiful yarn!

  3. stitch-dom says:

    I think that is souvenir yarn shopping! If anything your stash is even prettier than before…and how can that be a bad thing?

    (and tell Larry that this is better than a souvenir spoon, postcard or…gak…snow globe collection)

  4. knitXcore says:

    I’ve wanted to make the Drinken Argyle forever!!! size 3 needles kind of scare though 🙂 that koigu is amazing

  5. knitXcore says:

    drunken… i meant 🙂

  6. Arleta says:

    mmmm. nice yarn pics. Love the colors.

  7. Nice vest colors! How far have you gotten on it? 🙂

    I’m drying off my keyboard. Your yarn purchases made me drool and I’m fighting the urge to do some on-line yarn crawling. I think the Claudia would make a beautiful shawl.

    It sounds to me like you always have a plan for your yarn. Like me. My plan is to use it as insulation in the house. Anything else is icing on the cake.

    Yummmm. Caaaaaake.

  8. Rebekah says:

    Yep, definitely making a memory and that 100% silk is quite the memory. It’s such gorgeous colors. I think I’d stuff a skein in my bra so I could always have it with me. hee hee.

  9. lobstah says:

    Wow, that Claudia yarn is so stunning! I’m not normally a yarn impulse buyer (I’m too wussy about trying to figure out how much is really needed to make something, etc etc), but I would definitely pick that up on impulse! And you know that you will eventually find a perfect design for it.
    Also, I usually only buy yarn for projects I have in mind but it builds the stash up nonetheless!

  10. Terri says:

    There is some seriously gorgeous yarn in that little lot!! :o)

  11. Opal says:

    Gorgeous yarns. I really love the Claudia Hand Paint and I think it’ll make a gorgeous shawl. I’m so glad to hear the Ariann sleeves are working out all right.

Leave a Reply

