This and that

I want to start today’s post by thanking everyone for their nice comments about the socks – can I be lazy and thank you all here, and promise that next time you comment I’ll send a more personal thank you?  I was overwhelmed by the number of comments and emails I got after the last two posts – and I didn’t take care of them as they came in….  That ok?  Please?  Buy you all yarn?

PIc 063
We had a wonderful time at Hershey – the hotel is just beautiful.  I think you all should go…..hey, how about we all go?  Let’s meet there!  But in the spring when its nicer….it was so cold there.  But we really did have a wonderful time.  Spent lots of time talking and relaxing.  We walked around the hotel on Friday – unfortunately, the Circular Dining room was closed for renovations, but I did get a quick peek through a window.  Disappointing that it wasn’t open, but just another reason to go back.  I think we will be going back in the spring or summer – Larry didn’t get to try the golf courses, and I didn’t do the spa.  So who wants to go with us?

PIc 051

Not convinced about going?  Hmmmm….how about the Mannings?  We went on Saturday …..and I spent a bit too much.  I’m not going to show what I bought (well, not in this post) but I did get some very nice stuff.  I was both pleased and disappointed in it – make sense?  I think I had built the store up in my mind into a huge place – and its big…but…just smaller than I thought.  However, they really do have a great deal of yarn, books, equipment.  No fiber though (if they do, I didn’t see it).  I looked at the weaving looms, but realized I just can’t buy one without knowing anything about it.  I’m going to have to take a class or two.  There is one in March…and I could stay at the Hershey Hotel….anyway, back to the Mannings.  I forget the name of the woman who waited on me, but she was really so nice.  I’m not sure the store is worth a 3 hour drive – but if you are anywhere near it, its well worth the visit.  It is out in the middle of nowhere though – almost looks like a residential street.  Like the pictures I took for you?  I remembered when we were too far away to turn around on the way back. 

 I finished some yarn on Friday – this is an alpaca blend that I bought at Rhinebeck.  I still have some to spin, but here is 162 yards of heavy worsted.  I was hoping to spin enough for the Irish hiking scarf, but back to the wheel!

PIc 075

I also got (finally!) the DPN’s to do the Ariann sleeves – so I started them yesterday.  I’m not sure what to do – the increase is in stockinette and apparently you are supposed to work the eyelet pattern into the increase.  Its a 12-stitch repeat, and everyone starts by doing the first 6 stitches (or last) of the pattern as they increase.  I didn’t and now I’m not sure what to do….I think it will look weird to just start it now – but I really don’t want to frog back.  I have 8 more increases (for a total of 16 stitches increase) so I think leaving it stockinette would look weird too.  Sigh….I think either I just start the eyelet or frog it back.  What do you think?

PIc 081

6 Responses to This and that

  1. tiennie says:

    Glad you had fun. I’m bad about giving advice on knitting (for Ariann) – sorry!

  2. stitch-dom says:

    I wish I could help with the Ariann – I suppose you can only try it out and hope for the best? Glad you two had a relaxing time!

  3. knitXcore says:

    that new-ly spun yarn is really nice looking 🙂 I can’t wait to check out this hotel

  4. Rebekah says:

    I want to go! But then it’s Hershey who wouldn’t.

  5. Arleta says:

    Ooh, I’d love to go there! Mmmmm.

    Love your handspun, and your knitting! Nice!

    p.s. thanks for the nice comments at my blog! 🙂

  6. So did you buy the yarn for the vest? Huh? Didja?

    Glad you had a good time and recharged a bit.

    I don’t think that the sleeve will look bad, the way you’re working it. Hopefully it’s grown on you so you’ll enjoy wearing it!

Leave a Reply

