Escape!

Larry and I impulsively decided Monday night that we should get away by ourselves next weekend.  We were just talking, and somehow one comment led to another that led to reseverations here

 Hotel Hersey

The Hotel Hershey…I’ve always wanted to stay here ever since I saw it on America’s Castles.  I love the show, and watch it every time I find it on.  I’ve always loved visiting old houses like this – I want to see all of the ones that have been on this show.    Sorry – for a minute, I lost total focus and started looking the houses up on the web (Marble House, Winterthur, Stan Hywett…..ahhh…I want to go!).  Anyway – we were talking about how we needed to spend some time together, and started talking about where to go.  B&B somwhere (now that we are non-smokers!), New York?  Philly?  Larry mentioned the Hotel Hershey, and that was it – we are going to do it.  I can’t wait – the Hotel is supposed to be beautiful, and it will be fun to get away from real life for a bit.  So Friday, we are off.

OK, so January probably isn’t the best time to visit Hershey, but I’m not a huge fan of amusement parks, so I don’t care about that.  I think we’ll probably just shop in some of the outlets there (and yes, there is a yarn store) or maybe go to Gettysburg (I’ve never been and nothing says fun like tromping around a historic battleground in January!)…and of course, its Amish country so there are cute stores and things to go to.  And if we can’t find anything to do…well, the hotel has an amazing spa with chocolate dips and massages.  Yummm….I’m sort of hoping for bad weather! 

Just being away, though, is enough.  Sometimes I just need to spend time with Larry and recharge our relationship and spend time and talk about things unrelated to kids, bills, animals, whatever.    Like yarn.  And knitting.  Yes, that’s it – we can totally reconnect and talk about yarn!  Ok, not really (although Larry really does humor these conversations quite often).    So two more days of work, and then a nice drive out to Hershey Friday afternoon.  Wouldn’t it be nice if it always was a three day work week?

On the knitting side, I found excellent directions for cabling without the cable needle on Wendy’s site – amazing.  Looks so obvious and simple….I’m going to try it tonight.  If you hear screaming from wherever you are, you will know it didn’t go well.

15 Responses to Escape!

  1. tiennie says:

    Have a great time!

    I love cabling w/o a cable needle. One less needle to fuss with!

  2. Looks like a wonderful place – I’ve bookmarked it because I too, am a lemming and must also get away with my hubby sometime soon. Have a great time!

    I just heard the wind blowing last night – no screaming from your neck of the woods at all – must have gone well!

  3. Dana says:

    What a cool place. Sometimes the off season is the best time to go places.

  4. kitkatknit says:

    Weather and roads permitting, take a field trip to The Mannings http://www.the-mannings.com/ in East Berlin PA.

  5. Rebekah says:

    Sounds like a fabulous mini-trip, just what the doctor ordered.

  6. LindaB says:

    Bon voyage my friend!

  7. stitch-dom says:

    Have a wonderful weekend! I went to Hershey (the amusement park) when I was a kid and we lived in D.C. — it was very cool. Now that I’m all grown up – I’m running more at your speed. That hotel looks wonderful.

  8. Have a WONDERFUL time at Hershey. (I like dark chocolate. Write it down. 😉 ) Chocolate spa…yummmmmm.

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed that there’s not a lot of wind so you can really enjoy Gettysburg.

    Don’t miss ANY of the yarn stores, either. Larry will love it!

    A full report, at the next knitting meeting, will be expected.

  9. knitXcore says:

    that place is sweeeeet! (pun Intended!) I’m begging dave to take me there now 🙂

  10. lobstah says:

    That sounds like it will be very fun! Please please please get a chocolate dip! I must hear a report on that!

  11. Opal says:

    I hope you two have a fantastic time! It looks gorgeous! I hope you take your camera along. And it would be truly scary if I heard your screams all the way over here, but I truly doubt you’ll have a hard time cabling without a needle.

  12. Lucinda says:

    Looks like a fabulous place to escape! Have a blast!

  13. Terri says:

    Ah that looks lovely. Hope you have a great time. Sounds like you have a great relationship with your hubby. :o)

  14. Arleta says:

    Oh, wow! Have a great time!!!! How spontanious and fun!

    p.s. thanks for the well wishes for me. I’m feeling much better. 🙂

  15. susan says:

    I think you have a good chance of getting snowed in if what is here comes there. Enjoy your weekend. The sock is beautiful and so is the vesper yarn.

Leave a Reply

