What happened to winter?

I woke up this morning and let the dogs out – and then left the screen door on the slider open to get fresh air into the house.  I do that all the time – in the spring!  Its January 6 and its 64 degrees (F) out and its supposed to get up to 70.    I hate it.  I like winter.  I like wearing warm sweaters, snuggling under afghans, having a fire in the fireplace, watching snow fall…you get the idea.  I don’t like looking at the garden in January and seeing things grow.  If I wanted weather like this, I’d live somewhere else.  I’m going to let my bitching about the weather be my Saturday Sky since its just cloudy and crappy looking here – and I’m sure no one wants to see that.

On day 5 of no smoking and I’m pleased to report – its going well.  Starting to get over being whiny about it.  And I’ve been good on Jenny Craig so all in all, a good week.  Crazy busy at work (which helps with both), so I’m very much looking forward to down time this weekend.  I spun a bit this week, but not too much.  And I hate to admit, but I forgot about the Friday Night Spinners – so next week.

I am on….repeat 21 of the Kimono shawl!  4 more to go!  Maybe less – I’m going to have Cieara try it on for me to see how it looks – it looks pretty long already and I don’t want it to be too long for the recipient.   I am going to do nothing but work on that this weekend to get it done.   Yea! 

I used to work with a woman who in the middle of meetings would reach up, pile her hair up on her head, or the back of her head and use a pencil to keep it there (come on, how is this for completely random?).  I never knew how she did it, but I was always fascinated when she did it.  Most of the time, I don’t think she really even thought about what she was doing.   The other night, I was knitting, and my hair was just all over……and I reached back and twisted it into a little bun – and used a DPN to keep it there.  How cool am I?  I was so proud that I figured out how to do it – and showed Larry and Cieara.  I’m sure the frozen smile they both gave me indicates how cool they think I am (especially Cieara – nothing more cool to a teenager than a mother with knitting needles in her head). 

I hope to have something to show you this weekend (maybe Monday) – hopefully, it will be a finished Kimono shawl!  Have a wonderful day – and if you are in the Northeast US, I hope you find your shorts!

10 Responses to What happened to winter?

  1. I know. This is just disgusting. And the fog was so bad last night Bob had trouble getting home. Glad you had a good week and I hope it just gets easier from here on out – and finish up that shawl – then we can concentrate on Ariann – you cool, knitting needle head woman!

  2. lobstah says:

    Boo to non-winters! It is just as bad up here…it’s raining today! I’m so happy you are doing well on quitting…hooray! Have a nice weekend 🙂

  3. craftyminx says:

    I could go on and on about the greatness of knitpicks’ shine! I wish I could say the same for the pattern I’m using it for.

    I had a roommate that did the same hair thing with a pencil. I’ve always been envious. She even tried to teach me, but my hair is too thick. boo!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Way to go on not smoking!! I’m making it too. 🙂

  5. I don’t want to tell you that I’m happy without snow. So I won’t.
    😉

    I think it’s cool that you did the dpn/hair thing. I know I could never do it. LOL.

    Congrats on Day 5. When you start tasting food more, you’ll really love it! How’s Larry doing?

    Good luck with the Kimono Shawl. And cheer up! It’s supposed to be C O L D next week.

  6. Lucinda says:

    We had that heat earlier this week, but not to quite that degree. It was a much more January-like day in the midwest today.

    Congrats on quitting smoking! No $$ on cigs means more $$ for yarn, right? 😉

    I use a dpn for cables, & tuck it behind my ear when not in use, to keep it handy. My preteen thinks it’s hilarious at home, but probably wouldn’t want mom doing it out in public.

  7. Terri says:

    Well done you re: the not smoking and the sticking to the diet. Good for you. I’m impressed. Sticking to one is hard enough but you’re tackling both at the same time!! I had to laugh about being cool with a knitting needle in your hair. My daughters roll their eyes when I answer the door wearing my lime green slippers, glasses on the tip of my nose and my knitting in my hands. Not a very cool look at all. LOL I’ll have to try adding needles in my hair to the ensemble!!

  8. tiennie says:

    Keep up the good work! Just think how awesome you’ll feel when the “real” summertime comes. Dang you – it’s freezing rain here in Seattle!

  9. Elizabeth says:

    It’s crazy warm in Kentucky, too. Glad to hear you’re still not smoking and even feeling less whiny about. I think I’m still whining. Keep it up! 🙂
    You asked about the yarn I’m using for the Jaywalkers, and it’s Brown Sheep Wildfoote in colorway Sonatina. It’s great yarn, but a little splitty at times.

  10. Opal says:

    What crazy weather you all are having! Unbelievable. I hope it cools off son.

Leave a Reply

