Starting the new year

I think I started the new year in the right way – finished a project, and finished plying yarn that’s been hanging out on the bobbins since last August….I think its a good omen for the new year (or it will be the only two things I finish!)

Knitting 008

I finished the scarf I made from the yarn spun from Lisa’s roving.  And I must say – amazing!  I think its sort of like Trekking in the subtle striping.  Very soft – and the finished scarf has that soft crunchiness I really love (weird, eh?).  Cieara is pleased with it, and I’m very happy to knit with something I spun up.   If Lisa ever decides to do this and sell – buy it!  Its really nice roving and yarn.

I am also very happy that I finally finished plying up my Crown Mountain Farm Sock Hop roving  – I started this last summer, and those bobbins have been just lying around the wheel collecting dust.  I couldn’t stand it anymore, so I spent about an hour or so yesterday plying it up. 

Knitting 015

This doesn’t actually show the color too well, but if I wait for the sun, I won’t be posting until the weekend.   The colorway is Say a Little Prayer  – you can get a better sense of the colors from their picture.  I spun up about 380 yards of DK weight; its superwash wool, so its perfect for socks.  I actually have more roving I didn’t spin and some singles I didn’t ply, so if I run out I can always add more.  I must say – this was a pretty good value.  8 oz’s of roving for $17, and there is enough to make socks or even lace weight if you can spin that fine.  It was nice to spin, and I would buy more of this.

So today was the first day back at work after a week off….first day back on Jenny Craig….and first day not smoking.    Not a bad day – but its been a struggle.  My natural inclination when quitting smoking is to eat.  And I can’t.  Carrots just don’t cut it.  Sigh….but one day down.  Larry and I went through the house last night throwing out all evidence that we ever smoked so that this morning it would be easier for us.  Good plan – except when I put on my coat and found a full pack.  Sigh…threw them out.  Then I got to work, and someone brought me a full carton that they had bought for me in the South.  Double sigh….but I stayed strong (ok, I have to admit – I really was tempted and got a bit whiny after that).    OK, enough whining.  Sorry – just couldn’t help it. 

OK, time to go work on my projects…I thought I’d end with this classic “I wish she’d leave me alone” teenager picture…

Knitting 011

11 Responses to Starting the new year

  1. Terri says:

    Good for you. Hang in there. It is one step and one day at a time and will totally be worth it. You’ve got all your readers to answer to now you know, so you can’t let us down!! :o) The scarf looks lovely and Cieara is a lovely looking girl. I know that teenage look very well. Mine used to give it to me all the time. ;o)

  2. Opal says:

    I’m glad you’re staying strong. Though I won’t say much more on that since that would make me a hypocrite.

    I adore the Say A Little Prayer yarn. One day I am going to decide on what to get from Crown Mountain Farms and I know I will just love it.

  3. lobstah says:

    I love that yarn you spun, such nice fresh color!
    I am trying to send you strength vibes…I’m rooting for you 🙂

  4. kitkatknit says:

    Oh the teenage eye roll. Perfect. I love the pink pants!

  5. stitch-dom says:

    Stay strong! Quitting is tough but it is so worth it. and…more money for yarn!!!

    Be good to yourself right now…dieting and quitting smoking is a lot for a body and brain to handle all at once.

    I’m pleased you liked the roving and made something so beautiful out of it!

  6. Arleta says:

    Stay strong. You can do it. We quit about 3 1/2 years ago. Not easy, but worth it!

    Gotta love teenagers! Hehe, actually, knock on wood, the teen years haven’t been too bad at our house.
    Your spinning is gorgeous!

  7. LindaB says:

    You & Larry are going to be so proud of yourselves, healthier, & there’ll be more folding $ in your pockets, too! Courage, my friend.

  8. tiennie says:

    Stopping smoking has got to be one of the best goals I’ve seen around the blogosphere. Cheering you on to better health!

  9. The scarf looks great on her, tho. You KNOW she’s secretly pleased you took the picture.

    What about something like trail mix? Just a 1/4 cup whenever you want to smoke. But I don’t know J. Craig and I don’t want “her” to come over and kick your butt.

    Stick that money in the “yarn crawl” jar!

  10. chris says:

    Beautiful Scarf and DD!! I would just pick up those knitting needles whenever you feel the urge overwhelm you – or spin. Or call a BFF for support…..

  11. donyale says:

    Found your blog too – yep – wordpress is great! Love your blog – will check in on your progress – stay strong

Leave a Reply

