Happy New Year

I woke up this morning very early, and did a little knitting on Ariann.  Everyone else was sleeping, and the house was so quiet and peaceful that I was able to sit and think about it being the last day of 2006, and review this last year.  Its been a big year for changes – new job for Dan and me, college for Andrew, and high school for Cieara.   All in all, 2006 was a very good year, and I think we’ve been extremely fortunate.

I also thought, during my morning alone time, about my knitting.  This has been such a growth year for me.  In January I learned how to spin, and bought my first wheel.  I also started my knitting group, which has led to truly wonderful friendships.  I went to three fiber festivals, bought more yarn that I care to think about, and made (or started) wonderful projects.  I even pushed myself and went to a spinning retreat.  I also started this blog – which introduced me into the whole blogging community.  I had been reading blogs for a while, but writing one has given me an outlet I really enjoy – and I truly appreciate all of the comments I’ve received, and the friendships I’ve made through it.   Knitting has given my life a dimension that I just didn’t have a few years ago, and I’m very happy that I’ve taken up this wonderful hobby.

I worked on my Finished Projects page this morning, and had to laugh how many socks I’ve made.  I wish I could have finished a few projects to list on my 2006 list, but then again – I’m ok with finishing what I finish when I finish it.  This list represents just a small part of what I think I accomplished this year – I think the biggest thing I’ve accomplished are the friends I’ve made, and the confidence I’ve gained.

I hate to do the whole New Year’s resolution thing, but I have two that I think are pretty important….the first is losing weight.  I’ve been off Jenny Craig for the last few weeks, and gained a couple of pounds.  Now its time to go back and just finish.  The second, and most important, is that I’m going to quit smoking starting Tuesday (easier to do it on a work day).  Larry is too, so cranky times are ahead (Dan has already mentioned that he’s going to be moving out)!  But we both want to, and its time, so if I sound whiny and cranky in the next few weeks, you’ll know why.

Finally, I thought I’d finish the year as I probably started….with a new project that I really shouldn’t have cast on since I already have too many…but I just couldn’t resist!

Knitting 004

A scarf for Cieara using the yarn I spun up yesterday – I’m really enjoying knitting this – so soft, and the colors are just fantastic.  The pattern is the Slipped-Stitch Mesh from the Barbara Walker Treasury of Knitting Patterns

I wish you all a very happy and joyful New Year, and hope that 2007 is a good year for you, your family, and your knitting.

8 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. Sounds like you had a wonderful year! I’m certainly glad to have found you and the knitting group. Here’s to more knitting and spinning and friends getting together in 2007 – and Good luck on Tuesday. That Cieara is one lucky scarf recipient!

    Happy New Year!

  2. lobstah says:

    Happy New Year Jeanne! Hope this year is yet another good one for you. I’m especially crossing my fingers that you are able to quit smoking…it’s so important! I’ve very much enjoyed reading your blog and look forward to another productive year 🙂

  3. tiennie says:

    Happy New Year!!

  4. The scarf for Cieara is so bright and sunny. A perfect project for the New Year!

    I’m sending you positive, fresh air thoughts aimed at your soon-to-be Non-smoking days. You’re a strong person and I believe you can kick the habit.

    And call me anytime you need to do some “group shopping” online! LOL!

    Happy 2007!!!!!

  5. Arleta says:

    your scarf is looking great. Those are my favorite colors!!

  6. Opal says:

    Happy New Year, Jeanne! I applaud you on your resolution to quit smoking. I’m so glad I stumbled on to your blog, who knows how. It’s been wonderful getting to know you and I look forward to continuing our friendship.

    The scarf is looking fabulous, BTW. Your spinning is outstanding! I also look forward to pictures of your Ariann in progress.

  7. Terri says:

    Sounds like 2006 was good to you. Hope the trend continues in 2007. :o) I’m loving the scarf! It looks great. Goodluck with the weight and the smoking. I too am trying to drop some extra kilos and am working hard at the gym on a regular basis. I don’t know that I’ve lost much yet, but I certainly feel better. I can’t commiserate about the smoking though as that’s one habit I fortunately never took up. I remember consciously deciding I had enough bad habits as it was and decided to leave that one alone! Probably the smartest thing I’ve ever consciously done. LOL. Happy New Year Jeanne! I’m so glad you started this blog. I enjoy reading about your knitting and your thoughts on life. Onward and upward I say!! :o)

  8. Rebekah says:

    Sounds like a really great year! I’m hoping 2007 is even better. It’s been great getting to know you.

Leave a Reply

