Spinning and a new project?

I really can’t say enough about the WooLee Winder – its just amazing how fast and consistently I spin with it.  A few months ago, I joined the Spinning Fiber swap and Lisa sent me beautiful hand dyed roving….so guess what I finished today?

Spin 011

Isn’t it beautiful?  And I don’t mean “don’t I spin beautiful yarn”, but look at those colors.  Lisa did such a great job on this, and it was so nice to spin.   I was sorry to finish it.  It turned out to be about 170 yards of worsted weight (by the way – the yarn I spun on the last post is definitely not worsted – no idea where I got that from – its bulky weight).  Not sure what I’m going to do with this – for now, I’m just enjoying looking at it drying with the sun shining on it.  Thanks again Lisa!

Spin 014

Yesterday, as I mentioned, I went out to lunch and yarn shopping with Laurie and Chris and who are completely bad influences.  I had no intention of actually buying yarn (ok, maybe just some sock yarn…), or starting a new project…..

Spin 015

Chris was working on Ariann and I love the pattern – so pretty.  Next thing you know, 6 skeins of Cascade 200 are in my arms, and I’m heading off to the register.  This picture is a little off on the color – but its close.  Very pretty.  I really do like this yarn – so nice to work with.  I am still trying to finish the shawl (somehow I am still on repeat 19 – how is that even possible?  Could I have been knitting backwards?), but I will finish it this week.  I hear that Ariann goes fairly quickly, but I will work it in between the two socks, sweater and lace scarf that are all patiently waiting for me to do something with them.   

OK, gotta go do my repeat of the day on the shawl….

10 Responses to Spinning and a new project?

  1. The yarn is beautiful! What a great color. I haven’t taken my wheel out all week – hmmm. Ariann looks great – what a nice color – I don’t think there is another color out there even similar to that color.

  2. kraftie says:

    OOoo… I need to go spin now. So pretty.

    Ariann is looking good too. I’ve been admiring that pattern.

  3. Opal says:

    That is some gorgeous looking yarn. I agree with you about the colours, but I think the actual spinning really contributes to the beauty of it.

    I’ve been wanting to knit the Ariann too! Except I’m a little nervous about knitting a sweater for myself. I’m a disaster when it comes to knitting sweaters. I love the colour your knitting yours in.

  4. Arleta says:

    Oh, man! That is beautiful. The colors, and the fact that yes, you do spin beautiful yarn! 🙂

  5. Amber says:

    That IS gorgeous — the spinning and the color!!

    I love the color you chose for your Ariann too — can’t wait to see it progress.

  6. tiennie says:

    I love the colors of the yarn! That’s going to be a beautiful sweater!

  7. Terri says:

    Yum. The yarns look lovely. Well done you. Ariann looks like a really nice pattern too. Nothing like starting a new project for a new year. I’ve been resisting so far, but you are the second blog buddy so far to start a new project so my resistance is waning!! Aarrgghh! :o)

  8. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous! The colors remind me of of a gorgeous sunset.

    Ariann is a very satisfying knit. I used Cascade 220 as well, and was very happy with my finished Ariann. You picked a lovely color.

  9. stitch-dom says:

    ooohhhh Jeanne! That turned out beautifully and I agree with the poster above that the spinning contributes to the colour! I am glad you posted so I could see it spun up. Lovely colour for the Ariann and it looks like a fun knit.

  10. LindaB says:

    OMG!! Besides creating gorgeous yarn, the woman is also an accomplished photographer! 2007 is sure off to a wonderful start for you and yours!

Leave a Reply

