Woolee Winder

I haven’t spun in months – I just get home too late during the week, and the weekends have been busy (not to mention that shawl project).  So when I sat down yesterday to spin, I think it was the first time since early November.  It took me a few minutes to get back into a steady pace, but I finally did.  I installed the WooLee Winder on my Lendrum….and I love it. 

The tension is a bit different with the WW, but once I fiddled and found the right tension, it was great.  I don’t know if it was just that I was having fun spinning, or the WW makes it faster, but I actually spun and plied 4 ozs in a few hours! 

Spin 003

Isn’t that nice?  Usually my bobbins are pretty lumpy, so its really nice to have something so even. 

Spin 007

Plying was fine on it – I don’t think I’d get a huge amount on one bobbin like I can with the Lendrum plying head, but its good for smaller amounts. 

This is 110 yds of worsted/heavy worsted.  The roving was from Spunky Eclectic, and the colorway was Leaf Peep (the September fiber from the fiber of the month club).  I think I am going to make a pair of fingerless gloves with it.   I’m pretty pleased with this because its also the first time I got close to what I intended – I wanted to spin worsted weight (lately I’ve only been able to spin fingering).  I also plied this from a center pull ball – a first for me.  Bit of a pain, but I didn’t want to spin such a small amount on two bobbins.  Finally I’ve never spun, plied, and washed yarn all in one day. 

I love the WooLee Winder – and I’m so glad that Larry got it for me for Christmas.  I feel so motivated now to start blowing through the stash and spin all of it up!   I may do that this afternoon, and this weekend.  I need to finish plying up the sock yarn for Cieara, but then I’m going to start another spinning project. 

7 Responses to Woolee Winder

  1. Rebekah says:

    Oh it looks so lovely! I’ve been jealous of those for quite a while. Maybe next year I’ll see about getting one, if I can justify it by spinning more.

    You yarn is gorgeous!

  2. kraftie says:

    Ooooo… I keep reading posts about woolee winders.

    I think I need one… but maybe I’ll wait till next year.

    The yarn you’ve spun looks great!

  3. Arleta says:

    That is so gorgeous! I want to learn to spin.

    Loved the NY pics, too.

  4. Opal says:

    Your yarn turned out so well. What a lovely Christmas present!

  5. kitkatknit says:

    Oh that’s funny Jeanne! That was my very first thought too when I put my Woolee Winder on – to start blowing through the stash and spin all of it up!

    Your Leap Peep is wonderful.

  6. lobstah says:

    Wow Jeanne, the yarn looks beautiful, so nice and even. I love the colors too.

  7. tiennie says:

    Very, very nice!!! Am always amazed by people who spin and knit and you are no exception!

Leave a Reply

