Knitting Christmas

This year was the first year that I received a lot of presents related to knitting.  In previous years, my family would not get me anything knitting on the theory that “you have a lot already” or “its boring” (last one from the kids).  It took me a while to get them all to understand that this is really what I want!

Larry really went above and beyond on this year’s presents…. 

Picture 081

This is a Bosworth spindle – I looked at them at Rhinebeck, and secretly wanted one (ok, maybe not so secret since I sent email links!).  The spindle is just beautiful (the roving is last month’s fiber of the month from Spunky Ecletic).  I did a bit of spinning on Christmas – and really need to read how to do this – I just kept on dropping it.

Larry also bought me a Woolee Winder for my Lendrum – did you see that commercial with the kid screaming when he opened his present?  That’s how I felt.  I haven’t spun with it yet, but I am going to do so tomorrow – and I’m so excited. 

I also got some sock yarn, and a few books – and amazing software – I’ll post about those later this week. 

On Christmas Eve, I started a new sock project.  I had finished my first sock using the Green Zen yarn, but didn’t want to start the second one.  Why?  Um….I had a couple of martinis and just didn’t think that the cable pattern and martinis mixed well (but I have to say – the martinis were very good!).   

Picture 075

This is Vesper sock yarn, and the sock is for Cieara (sorry about the blurriness).  I highly recommend this yarn – beautiful colors, soft and the stitch definition is good.  (I really need to stop screwing around with socks and finish that stupid shawl!)

I was looking in the stash the other day, and came across something that I had finished – except for the fringe.  Sigh – I finished this shawl months ago, and its been sitting there waiting for me to realize it.  This is the yarn that I bought on vacation this year in the Outer Banks.   This is a totally crappy picture, but I just couldn’t get a better one…

Picture 048

Pattern:  Mix and Match Stole from Knitting Addiction
Yarn:  Three balls of Plymouth Baby Alpaca Brush in light green, light blue and a rasberry type varigated. One skein of Ellyn Cooper’s Yarn Sonnets Texas Big Horn in the Rose Collage colorway. One Skein Ellyn Cooper’s Yarn Sonnets Metallo and its Colorway is Iris Swirl.

I don’t remember when I started or finished this (or the needles!).  I love the stole, though – its so soft and the colors are gorgeous.  I was thinking of gifting this, but I think I’m going to keep it.  

Picture 046

OK, I have to go get ready to go – its going to be really cold in NYC today (whose idea was this anyway?), but the kids are excited.  Have a good day!

6 Responses to Knitting Christmas

  1. Arleta says:

    I love knitting gifts!

    Great sock, and shawl, too. Wear it in good health! 🙂

  2. kitkatknit says:

    Woolee Winder for the Lendrum!! Me too!! Me too!!

  3. Rebekah says:

    What lovely gifts! The shawl is very cute, I’m glad you showed it to us.

    Nice new site by th e way.

  4. stitch-dom says:

    Hey! Lovely new site!

    Bosworth! Woolee Winder! That’s awesome jeanne – and I love that shawl…the colours are gorgeous.

  5. susan says:

    Jeanne, thanks for stopping by the blog and your comments on the “accident”. Everything is getting back to normal here. Have fun in NY and I am so glad your family understands the importance of gifting those knitting items!

  6. Terri says:

    I love the new look blog. I’ve been thinking about moving across to WordPress too, so will be keen to hear what you think of it. Sounds like you did really well in the Christmas Present stakes this year. :o) The shawl looks lovely. :o)

Leave a Reply

