Anniversary

IMG_2107

Yesterday was Larry and my 11th anniversary. We had decided that we wouldn’t do presents this year because we just bought a plasma TV, so I decided to finish the diagonal rib socks for him. I have to admit that I gave them to him in the morning on the needles, but I did finish them last night so I think that still counts!

Stats:

Started: October 17
Finished: December 23
Yarn: Knit Picks Essential, Burgundy
Needle: US 1
Pattern: Diagonal Rib Socks, Interweave

I think I’ve said this before, but the KnitPicks yarn was ok – but I probably won’t use it again. It was sort of thin, scratchy. It does show the stitch definition, but I think there is better yarn out there. It is cheap ($2.99 for 231 yds) but I just don’t think its worth it. We’ll see how they hold up, and what they are like when they are washed.

I do like this pattern, though – interesting but very easy to memorize so its good when you don’t want to have a chart to bother with. I can see making this again someday.

IMG_2110

I’ve been trying to find a copy of Interweave Knits Fall 2004 issue – I really like the Huntington Castle Pullover on the cover. But this issue appears to be like gold (or a Starmore book!) – I bid on it on eBay this week – and it sold to someone else for $25.49! Can you believe that? I stopped bidding at $10 – I can’t see the point of paying so much for a magazine. I just noticed that Interweave sells the indivdual patterns, so I’ll call this week and see if the pullover is one of them. Unreal though, eh?

I’m on vacation now from work through the New Year, and I’m very happy about it. I do have to log in one day this week to do my accomplishments, but that shouldn’t take long. I’m planning on spending some time relaxing with the kids and Larry, and of course knitting and spinning. We are going to take the kids into the city (that’s New York) one day to see the holiday sights, and Larry and I are going to do something one day alone. I’m also going to meet Chris and Laurie for lunch and yarn. The rest of the time is for me! I’m hoping to finish the shawl this week so I can block it – and then I’m going to start the fair isle cardigan.

I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas (or Hannakuh or whatever you celebrate!), and that your holiday celebration is filled with laughter and love.

IMG_2039

11 Responses to Anniversary

  1. AR says:

    Happy Anniversary! Great socks, pretty tree, too.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours! 🙂

  2. tiennie says:

    Happy, happy anniversary and happy holidays too!

    I got the Huntington pattern by calling Interweave a few months ago. I think you should be able to also – if not, maybe I can hook you up with it!

    Nice socks! Thanks for the review on the yarn. I always wanted to try some KP yarn b/c of the price but it wouldn’t be worth it if it’s not nice.

  3. Yarngirl says:

    Happy Anniversary!!! Merry Christmas!!! Lovely socks!!!

  4. I’ll let you “look” at my Interweave Fall ’04 issue. 🙂 Stop the e-bay bidding!

    Nice socks. Too bad the yarn isn’t something great. Maybe they’ll wear like iron!

    Looking forward to lunch – and yarn. If we can ever get coordinated, that is.

    Have a Happy Happy Merry Merry

  5. Opal says:

    Lovely socks. Happy Anniversary and Merry Christmas!

  6. Terri says:

    The socks look great. I was just looking at the diagonal rib pattern last night in a book I got for Chrissy. :o) Merry Christmas to you. Hope your day is filled with good things. :o)

  7. stitch-dom says:

    Happy Anniversary and Merry Christmas Jeanne! I hope you have a great time off…and can finish that shawl! Those socks are wonderful…Larry is a very lucky man as I’m sure he knows.

  8. Lucinda says:

    Merry Christmas & Happy Anniversary!

  9. KnitXcorE says:

    the sox look good:-) thx for giving your real opinion on the yarn…

  10. LindaB says:

    AWESOME! Everything, your gifts, your family, & your new blog site…good move! & a Dell laptop? WoW! Your family sure knows your heart’s desires! What a wonderful way to begin a new year. Enjoy!!

  11. LindaB says:

    PS, You’re a lucky young lady, Miss Cieara. Those socks Mom’s creating are gorgeous! Wear them in good health, and a wonderful new year to you and your big brothers:)

Leave a Reply

