Stress

I am having a hard time with stress this week. Work has been beyond stressful – too much to do, not enough time to do any of it well. Most of my days have been in one meeting after another – and each meeting brings more things to do. I normally handle high pressure/stress well, but not for weeks at a time. By Thursday, I was on overload. Cieara went out with a friend to the mall, so Larry and I went out to dinner. I met him at a restaurant, and I was so stressed and hyper that I ordered and ate my meal in less than 30 minutes. And talked the whole time. Without breathing. I’m still not sure what I ate. Part of the stress is the holiday – I’m still not done shopping and of course, there is the issue of the eternal shawl.

So I decided that I needed to take a step back, and figure out what’s important – what needs to be done right away, and what can I do to manage the rest. At work, I listed everything I have going on, figured out more realistic timelines, talked to my boss, and ended up with a still enormous project load, but one that I can probably handle. Personally? Shopping this weekend should finish it off, and then refocusing on taking time for me and the family.

Knitting? As I said in the last post, the shawl was starting to be a punishment and I just hated that. I love the yarn, love the pattern, and am excited about finishing it and gifting it. But the deadline? Not happening. So last night, I ordered a gift to be shipped to the person I’m making the shawl for. That way I don’t have a deadline – if I finish it in time, great. And if not, that’s fine too. I just needed to get the pressure off. I will never (repeat never!) do this again – no more Christmas knitting for me. If I do ever make someone something for Christmas, it will be either started very early, or just coincedence that I finish it around the holiday. Knitting is supposed to help me de-stress, not add to it. After I placed the order last night, I immediately felt a huge load lift. And I rummaged through the stash and started this:

IMG_2087

Aaahhhh…..wonderful, eh? This is the Zen Green yarn from Sophie’s Toes. Not much done on it because last night I started the Conwy socks from Knitting on the Road, but this morning I decided the pattern wasn’t right for the yarn and frogged it (I actually had a couple of inches done). I am now making a cable pattern from Sensational Knitted Socks – I think it will be much nicer for this yarn. I really needed the break, and to start something with some of the new yarn I bought. This yarn is beautiful – the colors are just amazing. This is the second thing I’ve knit with Emily’s yarn, and I really like it. If you are looking for nice hand-dyed yarn, check out her Etsy shop. (By the way, she has a really cute Santa baby hat pattern on her blog if you have a baby to knit for).

So today is the holiday party for my meetup group (another reason I wanted something simple to knit), and I’m looking forward to it. I think about 13 people are coming, and we are having a grab bag (yea! new yarn!). I really enjoy these women – spending time with people who share the same interest (obsession) is just so wonderful. Definitely will help me de-stress. After that we are supposed to go to the mall, but I’m starting to think that perhaps a nice peaceful day would be better and push the mall to tomorrow (this is probably why I’m not done shopping – I just hate the mall at Christmas time). We’ll see – I am just not going to let all of this get to me anymore.

I hope you all have a nice, stress-free weekend! I know I plan to!

Update – I just read Stephanie’s post from yesterday, and feel guilty. Sometimes I really need a good smack upside the head. I’m whining about stress, work, holidays and knitting. And yet? I have a house, food, family, job, medical insurance, money. We do contribute to charity, but honestly? Not as much as we should. Hmmm….I’ll be making a donation today. And when I’m tempted to whine about the “problems” I have, I am really going to try and remember the millions of people who actually do have problems.

10 Responses to Stress

  1. Susan says:

    Jeanne I could have written this blog post word for word. Each year I say “never again” and just like the movie “Groundhog Day” it happens over and over again. Sounds like you are getting a handle on it. Why do we do this to ourselves?

  2. Lucinda says:

    What a lovely color green! That sounds like the best possible decision for the shawl, & the best possible plans for a great weekend. Happy Holidays to you!

  3. Terri says:

    Jeanne, this time of year is always crazy and stress-filled and it’s not supposed to be. Ease up on yourself my friend – in all things. You may have a house, food, family, job, health etc, but stress is a legitimate thing to …well stress over too. I know I’ve put that badly and yes, it does help to keep things in perspective, but you are a good person, so cut yourself some slack my friend. :o) You’re only human after all.

  4. Carrie says:

    That is beautifully colored sock yarn! It should be a joy to work with it. And, yes, Stephanie’s post smacked me upside the head, too. It sounds like you’re the type of person who identifies a problem (i.e. your stress) and does something about it. Good for you! I’m glad you ordered a gift for your friend. The season is not about being as stressed as possible, and it’s good you’re taking steps to make it more enjoyable. Happy Holidays!

  5. lobstah says:

    I second Terri’s comments…there are a lot of bad things in the world but that doesn’t mean our (admittedly smaller) problems don’t need attention too.
    Good for you for taking the steps you needed to get back on track. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  6. Carrie says:

    Hey, we must be on line at the same time =) thank you for your comment. Have a great day!

  7. AR says:

    My Hubby and I were talking about the greed problem just the other day. I need to remember all of the people who don’t have as much, instead of worrying about the ones who have more.

    Great green in that yarn. Peaceful color!

  8. Opal says:

    I third(?) Terri’s sentiments about your stress. Don’t take away the fact that you have your own obstacles in your life. Don’t beat yourself up is what I’m trying to say. Yes we all need to wake up now and then to realize that we have it better then others, but we also don’t need to self-flagellate just because we were born in better circumstances either. Give when you can but do it guilt-free is what I’m saying.

    I’m glad that you put away that deadline for the Kimono shawl. Knitting should be our comfort not our burden.

    Your sock is looking fabulous! I’m sorry I got so wordy with this comment. Take care!

  9. Rebekah says:

    Oh I so hate stress, and right now the world seems to the brim with it. You know it’s true, things can always be worse, and so many have it worse then each one of us. But it doesn’t diminish the personal stress we each feel each and every day. It’s okay to feel stressed and bad and upset, even when we know others have it worse then us. But likewise it’s also important to remember those that are worse off and try to help unload some of their stress if we possibly can.

  10. Carrie says:

    Hey, Jeanne, I tagged you for a meme on my blog site The Barefoot Cobbler. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

