Eternal

I’m still working on the Kimono shawl. And I’m starting to hate it. I haven’t worked on just one project since I started knitting…and its starting to really kill me. I’m up to repeat 15 (7 to go if I do 22, 10 to go if I do 25…ugh). I think the shawl is beautiful, and the deadline is seriously looming, but I really need to knit something…anything else. And I can’t. Because of the deadline. Whose idea was it to knit something for Christmas?

I knit on the train yesterday for a little bit, but not the whole trip to work. On the way home, I worked. I think I was just avoiding it. So after dinner, I got it out and did a few rows. Its starting to feel like a punishment.

I got my Christmas yarn from Sophie’s Toes – amazing. Ordered it Friday, got it Monday! Its so beautiful. And I really really really want to cast on for a pair of socks. I haven’t knit socks in weeks – what if I forget how? I probably shouldn’t have ordered this until I finish the shawl – I came periously close last night to just bailing (after all, I can make it a birthday gift, right?). But I knew if I pushed the shawl off, I won’t finish it anytime soon.

il_430xN_5271572

No more deadline knitting for me, and thanks for listening to me whine!

10 Responses to Eternal

  1. AR says:

    I hate deadlines. Hope you get a burst of ambition and finish it!

    Your sock yarn is pretty! Reward yourself with it when the shawl is done. 🙂

  2. Rebekah says:

    oh deadlines are the worst! I hate deadlines. I hate knitting for deadlines even more. How do we always rope ourselves into these things.

    that is some gorgeous yarn!

  3. The Sophie’s Toe is beautiful. I can’t wait to GRAB it from the BAG.

    The Kimono is going to be finished soon. Keep repeating that. When you get to the end of the 7th repeat, maybe go one more. Before you know it, you’ll have finished all 25.

    YOU CAN DO IT!!!

  4. tiennie says:

    That really is beautiful! Have fun casting on!

  5. Terri says:

    Such gorgeous yarn. If nothing else drives you on with that deadline, the desire to cast this onto the needles should. I’m headed for the frog pond again, so I feel a big whine coming up myself. At least you’re making progress – I’m going backwards!!

  6. lobstah says:

    Precisely why I have avoided “deadline knitting” and hopfully will continue to do so! Hope you can get it finished 🙂

  7. Dipsy D. says:

    Oh, deadlines are so horrible, aren’t they? I hate them dearly too – but sometimes we just have to face them, unfortunately! ;( But just knit and see, you’ll be done with the shawl sooner than expected, and then you can enjoy all kinds of different projects again!
    I adore the Christmas yarn, by the way!

  8. Lisa says:

    That yarn is so beautiful. I wish I’d not missed out, but I’m glad you snapped it up. Can’t wait to see your socks knit up with this!

  9. stitch-dom says:

    Here’s a suggestion that comes from getting stubborn kids to do their homework: Go for the “finish a repeat, get a prize!!!” approach to finishing the shawl. I suggest chocolate but if Jenny Craig doesn’t like that option find something equally tasty but diet friendly. Or just promise yourself something divine when you finish it.

  10. Lucinda says:

    Deadline knitting, ugh! Good luck!

    I’ve abandoned trying to finish my latest shawl in time for the holiday party I meant to wear it to this year. There will be other holiday parties…

    I tagged you with a meme, but feel free to take it as totally optional. See my blog for details.

Leave a Reply

