Birthday weekend

I got up at 6:00 this morning – just like all weekends. During the week, I’d kill to be able to sleep in, but come the weekend, my eyes pop open anywhere from 4:30 to 6:00 and I’m up. I think part of the problem is that I immediately think of knitting, and what a good opportunity it is to get up early and finish some rows on the shawl. I need to stop doing this – I really need to catch up on some sleep!

IMG_2076

So here is my Saturday sky – taken at about 6:45 this morning. Its so cold here, but its supposed to be a bit warmer today and sunny. Brrr, though – I froze my toes taking this picture.
So this is a big weekend in our house – on Thursday, Cieara turned 15. Hard to believe sometimes – I have to admit I still think of her as young. We took Cieara, her friend Michele, and Dan out to dinner (if you live in the area, the restaurant was Circa in Highbridge and I highly recommend it). We had a very nice time, and came home to give her gifts. Here she is, surrounded by her gifts, but on the phone with Andrew who called to wish her a happy birthday.

IMG_2055

And today is Andrew’s birthday! He is turning 19! Wow – my kids are getting so old (what does that say about me?). We won’t see Andrew for his birthday – he decided to stay at school, and although we offered to come down and celebrate with him, he had other plans. I’m trying not to think about what those plans are – what I don’t know won’t drive me crazy! So we’ll celebrate his birthday when he comes home on winter break in a week.

So Happy Birthday, Cieara and Andrew!

I worked at home yesterday, and got an email notice from Sophie’s Toes – she had a limited run of Christmas sock yarn. Of course, I had to go look – and of course, I had to buy it. But isn’t it pretty?

il_430xN_5271572

I bought the last skein she had, and I think this will be for me. Can you tell I’ve totally given up on the “no more new yarn until Maryland” thing? It was stupid – and made me want to buy yarn more.

So today I’m off to Kraemer’s to pick up my grab bag gift for my knitting group holiday party. Then Cieara and I are going to the mall to do some holiday shopping. We are actually almost done – most of it we did online. I have limited tolerance for the mall at Christmas, so online is much better. But I can’t avoid the mall completely, so off we go. I’m really hoping to get most of it done today so I don’t have to go again, but we’ll see. My usual luck is that I can’t find anything on the first trip.

Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

10 Responses to Birthday weekend

  1. AR says:

    Happy Birthday to Cieara and Andrew!

    Two birthdays then the winter holidays, wow.

    I love your sky picture. I need to sleep in on the weekends, though. NEED to! Even if I don’t usually get to.

  2. Happy Birthday, Cieara and Andrew!

    Way to rub Sophie’s Toes in my face. OW!

    I would have jumped over to Kraemer’s, had I known you were going.

    Hope you had a painless time at the mall.

    See you next weekend!

  3. Susan says:

    Two birthdays so close together and so close to Christmas! Wishing you a painfree holiday shopping experience.

  4. Amber says:

    Happy birthday to Cieara and Andrew!!

    The yarn is gorgeous!!

  5. lobstah says:

    Happy birthday, Ciera and Andrew! Isn’t it scary how fast time flies?
    Saturday sky pic is very pretty! And I love the Christmas yarn.

  6. aija says:

    Happy birthday Cieara and Andrew! I’m glad you treated yourself to a present 🙂

  7. Terri says:

    Happy birthday Cieara and Andrew! Jeanne, the sock yarn is gorgeous. I wouldn’t have been able to resist either, and yes, I think you should definitely make it up for yourself. :o)

  8. Jo says:

    Happy Birthday Cieara & Andrew.

    We have the same thing here with two birthdays in the past week just weeks before Christmas.

    It is amazing how suddenly they grow up and we’re left wondering where the time has gone.

  9. Linda B says:

    HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAYS CIEARA & ANDREW!! Nice yarn Mom 😉 See you Saturday.

  10. Lucinda says:

    Happy Birthday to Andrew & Cieara! & a double “Happy Mommy Anniversary” to you!

Leave a Reply

