Productive Sunday

I had a very productive day. Started by going to Jenny Craig (gained 1.8 pounds – wonderful! I went off plan last week – evidenced by my dinner last night of homemade french fries and popcorm chicken). Then I came home, had a sensible breakfast and got some laundry done. Then we put up the tree, and decorated the house.

IMG_2039

We even did the front….although our normal decorator is at college so its not as nice as when he does it (no way am I going up the ladder to do the lights around the roof!)

IMG_2031

And Dan put up the deer (the one on the left is a half lit moose – Dan’s going to try and fix it tomorrow.)

IMG_2034

Took a bit (plus a trip to Target) so late in the afternoon, sat down with a cup of coffee and started to swatch the Knit Picks Fair Isle. The directions said to swatch a fair isle pattern…but…how do you do fair isle flat? All that purling. What a drag. I did a couple of rows, and decided that since the pattern is knit in the round, I can’t really check guage knitting it flat. So I think I’ll do a gauge swatch by actually starting the sweater (no, not yet – still not done the shawl). I know its probably not the best way, but I can’t see the point of checking gauge knitting stitches that I won’t be using. And I don’t want to knit the swatch of 32 stitches in the round. Am I just being stupid?

When we were at Target today, I came across this

IMG_2043

Its a sheep (of course) – but the best part (or more tacky/weird/pathetic if you’d prefer) is that when you press his stomach, he baahs “We Wish You a Merry Christmas”. How could I not buy it? I’ve spent the afternoon torturing the family with it….I have to stop because I don’t want the battery to wear out before Andrew comes home so I can torture him too!

So all in all, I feel very productive. Always a good feeling, eh? Hope you had a nice Sunday too!

5 Responses to Productive Sunday

  1. Opal says:

    I just love that little sheep! I wouldn’t have been able to resist her either!

  2. KnitXcorE says:

    the house looks fab!… i missed that cute lil’ sheep at target today…. i’m going back tomarrow now 🙂

  3. lobstah says:

    All the decorations look very nice!
    Swatching in the round=PITA. Apparently, if the item is supposed to be knit in the round, you are also supposed to swatch in the round. For plain knitting this isn’t a big deal, but for fair isle it seems like it would be difficult since the motifs are set up for a certain # of stitches much greater than you’d want to use for a swatch. I would probably do like you and just start the sweater. I think there was a discussion about this problem on the knitty forums recently if you want to check there.

  4. Kelli says:

    Jeanne: Thanks for 1) listening to my podcast, and 2) stopping by to leave a comment. I hope that you will also consider adding your “voice” to the next episode by participating in the new listener poll (206-350-8181). I know you will have that fair isle project on your needles! Good luck with your swatch decision and there is not a prettier backdrop to Christmas decorations than a white house with a pretty red door!

  5. AR says:

    Hehe! Cute sheep. My family looks out for sheep or knitting related things for me now. Are we all obsessed? LOL!

Leave a Reply

