Decisions, decisions

On work days, I get up at 4:30, so I really look forward to the weekend when I can sleep in. So what time did I get up this morning? 5:45. I’m trying to convince myself that an extra hour is “sleeping in”…sigh. It was still dark when I got up, and the sky was beautiful – very clear and a million stars. I thought of taking a picture, but I don’t think it would have come out. So I waited a bit for my Saturday sky. Beautiful day – the storm that has brought snow to the rest of the country blew through last night finally bringing cold weather. I can’t stand out of season heat. It was over 70 here yesterday – bleh. So I love the fact that its 40 here today. I just wish we had gotten some of the snow that everyone else got – I’m so jealous of all the beautiful snow pictures I saw this morning on the blogs.

IMG_2025

I’m still clipping along on the Kimono shawl – I just stared repeat #9 (13 to go). Still loving it – although I’m looking forward to being done. I think the shawl is going to be very nice – its so soft.
IMG_2029

I think its interesting that 100% of you told me to bail on my yarn/project promises. I didn’t start a new project, but I did buy yarn. Emily from Sophie’s Toes posted new sock yarn the other day, so I bought some. I had Larry pick some out first – that way its really not ME buying yarn, its him (see? its all in how you look at it!)

il_430xN_5162022

This is Larry’s yarn – nice, eh? The colorway is Tide Pool, and its 350 yards of beautiful blues, turquoise, and a few green and pale periwinkle highlights.

il_430xN_5161973

But this yarn? This is for me – I can’t wait to get it. The colorway is Zen Green – which is a saturated green with a few navy and turquoise streaks.

The Embossed Leaves socks were made from Sophie’s Toes yarn, and I loved it, so I’m really looking forward to getting more.

OK, now to the topic that I referenced in the title of this post. I have been trying to make a decision for most of this week on my next project – and would appreciate input. I really want to start the Brae Cardigan once I finish the shawl…but….I also have the pattern and yarn for the Knit Picks Fair Isle cardigan. I’m really torn about which one to do. Both are Fair Isle, both have steeks (which I’m both excited and nervous about doing), and I really like both. I’m leaning towards doing the Knit Picks one first simply because the yarn for it cost just a fraction of what the yarn for the Brae cost. So if I’m going to screw up something, I’d rather it be with cheaper yarn. I’m thinking that maybe the Knit Picks one is more of a learning experience, and then the Brae would turn out better. I haven’t done a garment other than socks in Fair Isle, so I’m a bit nervous. What do you think?

Today we are putting up our Christmas tree and decorating the house. I also plan on knitting, spinning and napping. Maybe some online Christmas shopping too.

Hope you have a nice, relaxing day too!

10 Responses to Decisions, decisions

  1. If you can keep the snow in your state, then I wish you snow! LOL!

    I vote for the Knit Picks sweater.

    What sock patterns are you going to use for Larry’s (your) sock yarn?

  2. Opal says:

    I vote for the Knit Picks cardigan. You might feel less afraid to experiment if there’s less money invested.

    I absolutely adore that Zen Green! I would have snatched that baby up if you hadn’t. I’ve been looking for a green colourway like that for ages! Colour me green indeed!

  3. Amber says:

    I vote for the Knit Picks cardi as well. Cheaper yarn = less stress = more fun! 🙂 And, it really is a beautiful sweater!

    Love the sock yarn and the shawl is looking gorgeous!

  4. KnitXcorE says:

    how very fancy! i’m still quite afraid of knitting lace….

  5. stitch-dom says:

    In your shoes…I’d start with the Knitpicks pattern. But of course once I started to get a bit bored with it, I would figure that (as an experiment of course) I would cast on the Brae. So you start the knitpicks keeping in mind that it does not necessarily keep you from the Brae for as long as you might imagine.

    Yours truly,

    Evil Enabler

  6. tiennie says:

    Your pictures are so beautiful today! Beautiful scarf, beautiful yarn, beautiful sky!

  7. ChelleC says:

    Okay I vote for Brae – I love both the sweater pattern and the beautiful yarns are gorgeous.

  8. AR says:

    Your Sat. Sky pic is really pretty. I’ll take unseasonal heat, anytime. I love heat! I’m not sure why I live in Michigan.
    Ooh, your yarn colors are great, and the shawl looks super!

  9. Terri says:

    The green zen yarn is gorgeous. Another green lover I see. Good for you getting your tree up and house decorated. I’m still to do that but just can’t get motivated. Oh and I would do just what you are doing about the Fair Isle swatch. Sounds sensible to me.

  10. Rebekah says:

    Go for the Knit Picks! Like you said if you mess something up, the cost of the yarn is much less and thus easier to swallow.

    Love the new yarn, although I would have called the green tide pool (but then the oceans I’m used to are more greenish water then the crystal blue).

    I’m jealous of the snow too, we just got inches upon inches of ice. But it’s still pretty I guess.–>

Leave a Reply

