Mail call!

I got home tonight to a very pleasant surprise…

IMG_2022

What’s this? Its a pretty big box….

IMG_2023

Its yarn (did you think it would be anything else?). Its all the yarn I need for the Brae Cardigan from Art of Fair Isle Knitting. I ordered it from Schoolhouse Press, and I must say – the colors are beautiful. 100% wool and it feels it – but I like the crunchiness of wool. I am so struggling now – I really want to just start this. I am getting bored with the Kimono shawl, and sure – Larry’s Na Craga is just sitting there…but I want to do Fair Isle! Maybe I should just start the ribbing…no, I really can’t. I swore I wouldn’t start this until I finished both the Kimono shawl and the Na Craga sweater.

You know, I really need to stop swearing things. It sucks! First the “I need to finish all current projects before starting new ones” and then the “I’m not buying yarn until Maryland Sheep and Wool” – both are just so stupid!

Isn’t this beautiful? Its BlackBunny Fiber Handpainted sock yarn. I’ve been looking at this ever since she posted it….I really want it. Stupid promise to myself (hey, does it matter if you only made a promise to yourself and you break it? Am I sounding like a complete addict?)

OK, I’m going to go put this wonderful yarn somewhere I can’t see it and work on my stupid Kimono shawl….sigh…..

9 Responses to Mail call!

  1. Yarngirl says:

    I think you should swear not to swear anymore – that would lift the swearing off you completely.

    Nice yarn!! Please do bring a skein for us to ooohh and ahhh over next we meet…..enabling helps lift the swear off too.

  2. AR says:

    Oh, it would be so hard for me not to start using that new yarn. Great colors you’ve chosen!

    The sock yarn is gorgeous, too.

  3. tiennie says:

    I don’t know if I could swear to any of that! Pretty yarn!

  4. Rebekah says:

    Good luck! Yarn is taunting, it just calls to us until it can no longer be ignored.

    It really looks lovely too.

  5. Oh, hell. Life’s too short.

    Order the yarn.

    Start the fair-isle.

    You wanna swear? Start that argyle vest. hee-hee

  6. stitch-dom says:

    So here’s where I contribute my two cents and help with further enabling as far as the “swearing” issue goes.

    My take on it is that you are a good mom and wife, worker – you do the laundry and no doubt lots of other chores. Animals get fed, family gets nurtured. The knitting you do is for YOU and the only reason you would have sworn something so starkly ridiculous is because for some reason you think there is a better way to do this “knitting thing”. Just cast on the damned fair isle already…everything else is just going to pale in comparison anyway.

  7. lobstah says:

    Ooh, pretty yarn. I can see how hard it would be to resist the temptation!

  8. Opal says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous yarn! Good luck battling temptation.

  9. Helen says:

    What did you end up using as substitutes for the MacAuslan yarn? I want to try the Brae cardigan as my next FI (currently doing the Hillswick in the same book) hh

Leave a Reply

