Weekend knitting

Its been so nice having a break from work – I have had 5 days off, and I’ve enjoyed every single minute of it. Unfortunately, the last two days I didn’t get a lot of knitting time in. Friday we decided to go look for a new kitchen table as the one we have is just falling apart. 3 hours later – had the kitchen table, but also bought new family room furniture (Black Friday sales were really good!). Yesterday, we went to Lowe’s to look for a Christmas tree and ended up at Circuit City looking at a new TV – so we ended up with a tree and a whole new TV/sound system. I think I actually reached a max on shopping – not a good sign at the start of the holiday season. So I think I’m going to stick to internet shopping! Hopefully I won’t be so easily distracted online.

IMG_2010

Yesterday, I did get a little time to myself and spent some time spinning. I’m almost done with my Sock Hop roving – can’t wait for it to be done. As you can see by the picture, these singles are a bit overspun – but I was having trouble all of a sudden with underspinning, so apparently I went a bit too much over the other way. I started spinning this in August (!) so its time for it to be done and in the stash. Larry and Andrew are going golfing today, Cieara is volunteering at the animal shelter, and Dan works so I will have about 3 hours alone (aaahh!). I’m going to make Cieara a pair of socks from this – but need to find a pattern.

So I started this weekend hoping to finish 3 pairs of socks and the glovelets. And so far, I’ve finished the socks…..yes, last night I finally finished Embossed Leaves!

IMG_2013
Pattern: Embossed Leaves, Interweave Winter 2005
Yarn: Sophie’s Toes, Mermaid colorway
Needles: US #1
Started: August 19, 2006
Finished: November 25, 2006

I know – very pathetic on completion time, but I actually put the second one off. I started it in October, and then left it until last week. I love the pattern, and think they turned out very nicely – but just got totally distracted with other projects.

IMG_2014

So today, no shopping. Just spinning and knitting – I’m going to finish Cieara’s glovelets and then its back to the Kimono shawl. It feels so good to have finished all these socks that have been dragging around here – my knitting basket is looking a bit empty – and its nice!

Back to work tomorrow, so my mini-vacation is over. I really did enjoy it, and now I’m looking forward to Christmas – I have the whole week off!

Enjoy your Sunday!

14 Responses to Weekend knitting

  1. You’ve done a lot of work on your knitting basket. Time to start…oh, I don’t know…a Drunken Argyle Vest!?!?!?!

    Don’t give up on it. I restarted and it’s going just fine.

    Embossed Leaves are great looking. Good Mom!

    Tom’s golfing today, too. We should get them together.

  2. Terri says:

    The socks look wonderful Jeanne! I bet that felt good making the last stitch!? I worked on my second one last night too and nearly up to the toe decreases, so I’ll soon know the same sense of relief. :o)

  3. Larjmarj says:

    Those socks are GORGEOUS. I wonder in interweave does back issues? I need that pattern! I have seen it on many blogs and I covet it every time.

  4. Jo says:

    Your socks look great!!!

    Must have been the weekend for furniture shopping ‘cos we also bought a dining setting and an entertainment unit… can’t afford the big TV yet, but hopefully soon…

  5. Susan says:

    Oh great socks Jeanne. The Embossed leaves are on my list. I really like all the IK sock patterns. I added one extra day to my vacation due to a sinus infection.

  6. Great job on the socks. I’m loving green right now so this really appealed to me.

  7. stitch-dom says:

    Gorgeous socks Jeanne — I would love to try that pattern too and it looks great in green. Congrats on emptying your basket a bit!

  8. Emily says:

    I am such a dork for being so excited to see my yarn made up into something so pretty, but I can’t help it! Those are great! You inspire me to brach out from plain ribbed socks!

  9. AR says:

    Super cute socks!

  10. Yarngirl says:

    Beauty! They came out wonderful! Does this mean I have to finish spinning the alpaca that’s been on my bobbins since goodness knows when?

  11. Rebekah says:

    Wow that’s a lot of shopping! What fun though.

    You reminded me how much I love those socks. Perfect yarn for them too, they look very leafy.

  12. aija says:

    I hate to admit I’m giggling at your train experience!

    I love embossed leaves… those are on my short list right now.

  13. Nora says:

    Embossed Leaves is a gorgeous pattern – and so are your socks. The yarn you chose is perfect.
    I gave mine to mum but after seeing these I’m definitely knitting another pair for myself! x

  14. Opal says:

    I love the yarn your spinning! Can you tell me more about the roving your using?

    The Embossed Leaves socks are gorgeous! What’s funny is that there’s someone in my knitting group making the same pattern in a very similar colour!

Leave a Reply

