Not one but…

two finished projects to show today!

I decided to take a break from the shawl, and try to finish some of the smaller projects I have in the knitting basket….I just had too much and it was stressing me out. So Larry and I each have a new pair of socks to wear today!

IMG_2002

Pattern: Canada from Knitting on the Road
Needle: US #2
Yarn: Elann Devon in Cocoa, Café au Lait and Ballerina
Started: October 29, 2006
Finished: November 22, 2006

I really like them – very comfy. If I ever knit these again, or with this yarn, I’d go down to a US #1 – they are not as tight as I like my socks. But definitely wearable, and I think very cute.

IMG_2008

Next up, a pair of finished socks for Larry…

IMG_2000

Pattern: Basic Sock – 64 stitches cast on, 1×1 rib for an inch and then stockinette stitch
Needle: US #1 (I used Knit Picks Options DPN’s and love them)
Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Supersock – can’t find the band, so don’t know the colorway, but this is the yarn I picked up in Maryland during Parents Weekend at UMD.
Started: October 24, 2006
Finished: November 22, 2006

Very boring knit, but Larry likes them and they are perfect fall colors.

Today I’m going to try to finish the Embossed Leaves sock – I’m down to the heel, and Cieara’s fingerless gloves. Then I just have the second Diagonal Rib sock – I’ll bring that on the train next week, so its back to the shawl for me at home. But my knitting basket looks a little emptier, and I feel better that I finished some things. I’m trying very hard not to look in the sock yarn stash – I don’t want to cast on for anything new until I finish all socks in progress.

Its very grey, rainy and cold here today – perfect weather for a fire, family, turkey and knitting. Hope you have a great day!

7 Responses to Not one but…

  1. stitch-dom says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Jeanne – enjoy that fire, family and turkey (while wearing warm handknitted socks). Its amazing how good finishing something feels!

  2. Terri says:

    Good for you, the socks look great! Well done. I’m doing a bit of the same thing – trying to finish up some loose ends before casting on for my next major project. The yarn for it won’t arrive for another week, so I have one week to sort things out. Hope the weather improves a little for you, but the fire, family, turkey and knitting sound perfect.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I love those socks from Knitting on the Road! I’ve been wanting that book for ages but never get around to buying it. I might have to now… Your socks are great!

  4. Pooch says:

    Really enjoy reading your blog! Your socks look so comfy! Had to laugh while reading the story of the great skunk attack. DH always bathed his hunting dogs with tomato juice after they tangled with a skunk. It must neutralize the odor (?) So happy that Duncan is back in your good graces. 🙂

  5. AR says:

    Both pair of socks look great! Super job!

  6. Nora says:

    Your Canada socks are sooo much nicer than those in the book. I flicked right past them and wouldn’t give them a 2nd thought – until now…
    Also, your colour choice is perfect. Well done.

  7. Opal says:

    I adore those Canada socks. I just have to get me that book. I love the Cherry Tree Hill socks. So cheery!

Leave a Reply

