Skunk

OK, Blogger really is being a pain tonight – had the whole post written, and it just disappeared. Bloglines is also not picking up the feed for this blog for some reason……grrr!

Anyway, I went out to dinner last night with a friend. Had a great time, and got home around 8:00. I immediately went upstairs, changed, and checked email. I started to notice a smell. Hmmm….couldn’t really identify it, but it was there. Then Maggie (shephard mix) came in the room, and it got a little worse. Made mental note to mention to Larry that maybe a trip to the groomer’s was in order. Then Duncan (lab mix) came in. OH MY GOD. I can’t even begin to describe how bad this dog smelled.

I went downstairs, smelly dog in tow, and the whole downstairs just reeked. And there is Larry watching TV, not a care in the world. I asked him if he could smell…he said “yes, there is a skunk outside”. I responded that it smelled like the skunk got Duncan – he came over…took a whif. Yuck. Honestly – skunks outside do smell. Pretty bad. Dogs that got sprayed? I can’t even begin to describe it – but it made me gag.

Poor dog – we wrested him into the bathtub and used up all our dog shampoo. He still reeked, so we tried Cieara’s shower gel (public servie notice – don’t try this at home. The bubbles that just come right off humans don’t really come off that way with dogs. It seemed to take hours to rinse him off). I did feel bad for Duncan, but …..he still just reeked. I couldn’t even touch him (I have to admit I’m a bit sorry about the comments about leaving him outside for the night, and the gagging – I think he started to have a bit of a complex).

We decided not to bathe Maggie – she actually hid from us as she’s not a big fan of baths (but she loves the groomer’s – go figure!). We thought that as she hadn’t been sprayed that it would “air out”. At 3:00 in the morning, I kicked her out of our room…..she was airing out to the point that I was dreaming about skunks.

So Larry took them to the groomer’s today. Much better. She couldn’t totally fix it – apparently the neutralizer needs to be applied immediately. But she did use strong shampoo and Duncan is much better now. I did give him lots of love to make up for being shunned last night….poor baby.

Doesn’t he look spiffy in his new bandana?

I have off work tomorrow – yea! I’m hoping to finish a pair of socks, spin, take a nap, make some pies…and of course, spend time with the kids and Larry.

I hope everyone (in the US) has a very nice Thanksgiving! I know I’m going to be thankful for our groomer!
6 Responses to Skunk

  1. Awwww… it’s my poopers. Look at him. He’s so cute. He knew I’d be looking at it, that’s the only reason he’s looking at the camera like that.

    Yes, this is your son commenting on your blog. Like the name?

  2. stitch-dom says:

    Awwww…poor guys. You wonder if their noses hate it as much as ours? Glad most of the smell is gone…up close skunk really can make you feel ill!

  3. Terri says:

    Oh that was a wonderful post! I laughed and felt very very glad to have a huge ocean between myself and said skunks. I don’t think we have anything like that out here. Foxes smell pretty bad, but they are feral imports here in Australia, so they don’t count. Poor Duncan. He does look adorable in that photo though. :o)

  4. Yarngirl says:

    OMG – I totally missed this post – you poor guys!!! I’ve been so scared this would happen to us – skunks seemed to be overpopulated here this year.

  5. AR says:

    Skunk smell is nasty! We smelled one when we were leaving the cabin last night, so we jumped in the car real quick! Hope your doggies smell normal again soon!! 🙂

  6. Opal says:

    I’m just catching up on your blog! Bad bloglines! Your poor nose and your poor doggies. I hope all is well soon!

Leave a Reply

