Found the solution…

The only time I use a knitting bag is when I go to knitting group, or away for the weekend/week (although I’ve been looking for a bag that can double as my purse – any ideas?). The rest of the time I tend to just bring my knitting with me (usually socks) and throw them in my briefcase, purse, whatever. As I’ve posted though there is a very likely chance that I’ll pull a needle out when I take the socks out to knit. I think I’ve done this at least once every week or so since I started taking the train. Its very frustrating – rather than knitting, I’m sitting there, muttering, and trying to pick up stitches. So I had to find a solution. The solution came last night in the mail.

IMG_1977

I had seen the needle holder mentioned on the Yarn Harlot a while ago, but forgot where she got it. I saw it again recently (I can’t remember where – its a bit early for my brain apparently). Its sold by Woolworks, a small shop in Conneticut. I ordered the large size, and it works beautifully. Just slide the needles in, cap the end, and its protected. No more yanking out the wrong needle.

IMG_1979

As you can see, I’m working on the second Canada sock. I currently have 4 pairs of socks going – Canada, Embossed Leaves, Diagonal Rib and the Cherry Tree Hill sock. I hate this – I’ve never had this many going at the same time, so I really want to finish them and go back to knitting a large project (Kimono Shawl) and a pair of socks. The hardest thing is that I’ve been fighting the urge to start another pair – I really want to use some stash yarn and I have a lot of really nice yarn. So I’m motivated to finish all of these socks, and clear out my project basket.

I’m on the third repeat on the Kimono shawl and its coming along nicely. I won’t show pictures, as it looks pretty much the same at this point, but I do love the yarn. And the pattern is very easy – a good beginning lace pattern.

Have a nice day!

10 Responses to Found the solution…

  1. lobstah says:

    I had seen one of those DPN-holders before and thought it looked like a GREAT idea! Hooray for clever solutions 🙂

  2. Rebekah says:

    Now that is a great and useful thing. I may have to check that out if I decide to keep knitting socks.

  3. Nora says:

    Ingenious. As for having 4 socks going at once… er, I thought that was normal!

  4. Yarngirl says:

    Excellent!!! And a Namaste bag could double as a purse/knitting bag – it’s classy too. I hope mine gets here tomorrow!!!

  5. Terri says:

    Those needle holders are a great idea. So glad you got that little problem sorted out. Now no more disasters on the train trip to work! I feel a bit like you with the sock thing – I’ve got three pairs on the go at the moment and that’s probably one too many for me at this stage.

  6. stitch-dom says:

    That is so cool! My solution has been start knitting on circs instead. But so far I’m getting some wicked laddering at the joins so this may not last.

    Have a greatday!

  7. AR says:

    Nice sock and holder. Your sock is looking really good. 🙂

  8. Opal says:

    What a fantastic gadget! Makes me want to jump in with the DPN’s so I can use it too.

  9. Bring the Kimono shawl on Saturday! Leave home the socks.
    This is your conscience speaking.

  10. KnitXcorE says:

    how fancy… you fair isle knocks off my socks!!

Leave a Reply

