Starting over

It took me a day to get over my bad knitting day, but I finally did. The whole experience of frogging the Brooks Farm yarn wasn’t good, so I decided to do something else. I do love the yarn, and will start the Flower Basket shawl again, but just not right now.

So I decided to do the Kimono Shawl from Folk Shawls. I rummaged through the stash, and decided to use the Black Bunny laceweight I bought at Stitches. I think its working out well…

IMG_1966

I actually started this once, and messed up the first row. I ripped it back to the garter stitch border and put in stitch markers every 20 stitches so I could keep track. That helped a lot, and now I’m clipping along. I’m still on the first repeat, but I think this will go relatively quickly. I knit yesterday on the train, and expect that I’ll be able to continue to do that until it gets to big for me to cart around.

I have two skeins of this yarn – so about 1600 yards. The pattern calls for 2000 yards, so I sent Carol of Black Bunny an email asking if I could order another skein. Since this is hand-dyed, I’m not sure she can or will do a custom order. If not, it will just be a little bit shorter.

Last night I worked on my second Canada sock, and everything went well, so I think I got my knitting mojo back…although I’m a bit scared to say that! I have knitting group today, and I’m not sure what I’ll bring to work on. I don’t want to work on the shawl – I find that I generally need something that I don’t have to concentrate on when I knit with others. Too much talking, laughing and looking at other people’s projects. I may bring the Canada socks, but we’ll see.

I listen to podcasts on the train, and this week found a new one. Its called Sticks and Strings, and its very good. The creator is David, and he’s from Australia. I’m not sure if its the content or his accent, but I really enjoyed it. I hope he continues to do them – its so disappointing when podcasts just disappear. It seems a lot of the knitting ones have just gone away.

As I said, I have knitting group today, and I’m looking forward to it. Its always fun to get together with the group and see what they are working on. Other than that, I don’t have much going on this weekend – yea! I really could use some downtime. Work is too busy, and I need a chance to recharge.

Ever since the spinning retreat, I’ve been thinking about weaving. I think it would be a lot of fun, and I’d really like to learn it. But looms are pretty expensive, and I’m not sure this is something I could learn by myself. The Mannings has a week long class on it, but giving up a week of vacation for this is hard. They do have a weekend class, but not until March. Last week’s Cast On podcast was all about weaving…..which made me want to do it more. So I decided that before I invest in a class or loom, I need to research it. I so bought two books from Amazon…Learning to Weave by Deborah Chandler and Hands On Rigid Heddle Weaving by Betty Lynn Davenport. If I buy a loom, its probably going to be a rigid heddle loom as I’ve read that its a good way to start – not too much money, but still pretty functional. I can’t wait to get the books so I can get a basic understanding of how it works. Then I’ll decide whether to buy the loom or wait until March and take the weekend class.

I thought I’d leave you with a picture of Maggie recharging. Apparently she has had a busy week as well…so much so that she had to pull the bandana over her face!

IMG_1963

Have a great weekend!

7 Responses to Starting over

  1. Yarngirl says:

    Glad the mojo is back!!! Looking forward to seeing you both at meetup (you and the mojo). I started with a rigid heedle – and there is a place in Neshanic Station that has tons of weaving stuff……roadtrip!

  2. Lucinda says:

    I’m glad your knitting mojo is back! I’ll have to check out your podcast recommendations. I’ve just started getting into podcasts in the past month.

    I’ve actually done some weaving, many, many years ago. It’s fun! But not as portable as knitting, so I’m resisting any urge to get back into it.

  3. stitch-dom says:

    Yayyy mojo’s back and Jeanne’s a-knittin’ again!

    Weaving? I’m jealous. When people at the guild ask if I’m a spinner or weaver I say I’m a spinner but I’m sure that weaving is only a short trip further downthe road!

  4. Opal says:

    So glad the mojo is back. The Kimono Shawl is looking so lovely too. Thank the Knitting Goddesses for stitch markers!

    I always have to think a bit on what project I want to take for knitting group too. Not everything is suitable though I did take my Flower Basket shawl with me when I was working on it.

    Maggie is so cute!

  5. lobstah says:

    That lace looks gorgeous! And yes, stitch markers are key.

  6. Rebekah says:

    OH I love that shawl pattern, it’s on my to do list. The one nice thing about a rectangled shawl, it’s easy to shorten if need be.

    I swear by stitch markers with lace.

  7. Terri says:

    The new shawl is looking pretty good! Glad you got your knitting mojo back. That would be too terrible to lose for too long. :o) Your dog looks just adorable too!

Leave a Reply

