Stitches East

Stitches was amazing – I had a great time and wish that we had stayed over so I could go again today. We left around 7:30 and got there at 10:30 and quickly found our way to the market. Wow – I wish I could have taken pictures – the overall impression of colors, people, yarn – it was beautiful!

Going with knitters, as opposed to Larry, made this a different experience than going to Maryland or Rhinebeck. Larry is very supportive (and likes to pick out yarn for socks for him), but going with fellow knitters meant a lot of talk about what the yarn could be used for, and things that I probably would have missed being brought to my attention. I think that in some ways it opened my mind to new possibilities – rather than just looking at what I usually do (sock yarn), Helen and Linda had me looking at all different types of things. And I bought things I probably wouldn’t have had I not gone with them.

I’m not going to show everything I got because its probably boring, but did want to point out a couple that I’m very excited about.

One of the first booths we hit was Brooks Farm – I’ve drooled over their yarn for two years now, and decided (after a call home for yardage) to buy some to make….

IMG_1949

This is Primero and its amazing. The feel and sheen of it are just beautiful. Its 100% mohair, but feels like silk. I already cast on this morning for the shawl…with a little help from this great tutorial on the cast on at Get It Knitted. (First thing I had to learn was how to crochet which was pretty difficult as my left hand kept on looking for a needle!).

IMG_1953

This is Schaefer Anne – 1120 yards to make (soon!) the Seraphim shawl from MimKnits. I have the pattern, and can’t wait to start. I bought the yarn from Adela’s Yarn, and a designer from Schaefer Yarns was there and helped me pick out the colorway. She was a good salesperson because I also bought enough Schaefer Andrea in the Frida Kahlo colorway to make a shawl they had hanging there – its beautiful – reds, golds and gold beads. They didn’t have the yarn there, so its being shipped to me…..I can’t wait to get it. The yarn is 100% silk, and I may just have to carry it around with me.

Rosie’s Yarn Cellar was there, so I went it to see if I could get some Black Bunny yarn. They did and Carol herself sold it to me! I mentioned that I read her blog regularly (Go Knit in Your Hat) and have bought her yarn before and she gave me a free tote bag. I felt like I was meeting a celebrity – I love her yarn, and really enjoy her blog. I bought laceweight to make the Scheherazade stole. The yarn is beautiful – soft and the colors are great.

IMG_1954

The other item I wanted to mention was a kit both Helen and I bought – well, the shawls were similar but a little different. Its the Mitered Trim Poncho (its not a poncho – its really a shawl) We saw someone wearing this when we first got there, and it was beautiful. I know – you are probably thinking – uck! But really – its so beautiful when you see it made up – the pattern pictures really don’t do it justice. I bought the kit in burgandy, blue and beige. Helen’s was a little different (she bought the Merino Mitred Corner Capelet) in olive, purple and lime (sounds weird but the colors are beautiful together). This is where going with knitters was different – I probably wouldn’t have looked at something like this by myself, but Helen and I enabled each other. They had samples there, and I tried on the one I’m making and just loved it. I can’t wait to start it, but the shawl from Primero will be first…sigh..I really wish I had a bit more time to knit.

So that was Stitches – I did buy a little more sock yarn (of course), and came home a little bit poorer, but very happy. We had a great time together, and have already started talking about next year.

I hope to get in major knitting time today, and hope you have a nice relaxing day too! Happy Sunday!

10 Responses to Stitches East

  1. lobstah says:

    Oooh, I’m so jealous! You bought some GORGEOUS stuff! I especially love the Anne, such great colors!

  2. Yarngirl says:

    Beautiful – it’s all gorgeous! I’m so glad you had such a great time!

  3. I want to see everything!

    The Anne – oh wow!

    Looks like you did the market place justice.

    See you Saturday. Bring some beautiful yarn, ok?

  4. desiknitter says:

    Scrumptious, scrumptious yarn! I love the last blue laceweight, it is absolutely gorgeous.
    Just a word about the 100% mohair, I should warn you that it gets very fuzzy and sheds like the devil. I made a large lace scarf out of it and it needs constant reblocking to calm the fibres down. I love those Evelyn Clark shawl designs, though, it will look beautiful in it.

  5. AR says:

    Sounds like you had fun! All of your new yarns are so pretty. Great colors!

  6. Opal says:

    Oh what fun! So much lace goodness! Have you thought of joining Lacevember?

  7. Nora says:

    Beautiful yarn – you have great taste! x

  8. Old Knitter says:

    Oh my….what delicious yarns!!!! You shopped well girl!

  9. Rebekah says:

    What gorgeous yarns. I’m so glad you had a nice time.

  10. Terri says:

    You have some great yarn events to attend over there. Makes me really envious. We have stitches and craft type shows, but they are mostly quilting. Love the shawl pattern you bought. Should be stunning in that yarn.–>

Leave a Reply

