Canada sock…almost there!

There is a downside to taking the train to work…yesterday, the train engine died about 10 minutes from my destination on the way to work. We sat there for almost 2 hours. Sigh….meanwhile, on the train it seemed that every single person was sick – so there was constant sneezing, coughing…..this morning I woke up with a sore throat. Arrrgh! I have somewhere to be this weekend (Stitches!) – I can’t afford to get sick. I’m feeling fine now, but have my fingers crossed that I won’t get a cold.

I’ve been working on the Canada sock…and I’m loving it. Working on the foot now…
IMG_1946

I really enjoyed the fair isle part. I knit fair isle holding the yarn in my right hand – I don’t know how to knit continental, and when I’ve tried it just feels unnatural. So I drop one yarn and pick up the next. I’m sure its not the fastest way but it works for me. I remember when I first started knitting that I thought I couldn’t knit fair isle because I couldn’t knit continental….but someone reminded me that in knitting you do what you do and as long as it turns out its ok. And when it doesn’t – frog it! Luckily, I didn’t have to frog this.

IMG_1945

The sock seems big, but when I’ve tried it on it fits – its just not very tight. But I like it – as you can see since I haven’t touched anything else since I started it.

I was listening to Lime and Violet last week on the train, and they mentioned an Etsy shop that had nice yarn and roving. I checked it out and had to buy this:

IMG_1947

Amazing yarn – I don’t ever think I’ve seen something like this. Its from Perchance to Knit and I have to say that its the fastest shipping I’ve ever seen. I ordered it Saturday, and it was here on Monday. In fact, it was so fast I thought it was from a swap that I forgot about! Its really beautiful in person….Larry and I are currently fighting over it (I think he’s getting a bit spoiled, don’t you?). I know – just went to Rhinebeck and going to Stitches – but I just couldn’t pass it up.

Well, I’m going to go watch House and spend time with my socks family…..

IMG_1934
Happy Halloween!

6 Responses to Canada sock…almost there!

  1. Opal says:

    I love love love your Canada sock! I’m glad you found a way to do Fair Isle that works for you.

  2. AR says:

    Your sock looks great! That’s the same way I knit with more than one color. My left hand will not cooperate! haha. Hope you and your sock, I mean Family had a great Halloween.hehe

  3. Rebekah says:

    OH that sock is wonderful. Okay now I’m glad I dont’ commute by train. Hope you don’t get a full blown cold and you can get away with just a sore throat.

  4. Terri says:

    Clever You! Those Canada socks look amazing. I’ve never tried Fair Isle before, so maybe I will give it a whirl at some stage. These look so nice. Love your pumkin lantern. Great character in that face. :o)

  5. stitch-dom says:

    Lovely sock…and it totally reminds me of a zillion big cardigans I always see in upscale tourist shops. The colours very much have that Canadian rural feel to them.

    I haven’t tried fairisle yet. I’m slowly mastering continental but only with thick yarns – skinny sock yarns tend to get away from me.

    Elann also has this nifty thing in their catalogue… do a search for “clover yarn guide” I saw a video of it being used at verypink a while back. Basically it holds your colours and you just knit with whichever colour you need at the moment.

  6. Susan says:

    Jeanne, the Canada Socks are beautiful! I have never attempted fair isle. I can’t wait to see the new yarn purchase knitted into socks. The color is great!

Leave a Reply

