Canada Socks

I had a credit at Elann and was waiting to find something to spend it on. I didn’t have much – I had used most of it already. I was reading blogs last week and came across an entry on So Much Yarn, So Little Time with a picture of the Canada socks from Knitting on the Road. I’ve seen this pattern a million times, and yet….all of a sudden I really wanted to knit them. cmeknit had used Elann’s Devon…so I went and used my credit.

The yarn came yesterday, and although I currently have three other pairs of socks going, I had to cast on. I love them!

IMG_1927

Its a great pattern – very interesting to do. Once I get through this fair isle section, the rest of the leg and foot is in the brown, but with a pattern down the side. I can’t believe I’ve skipped over this pattern for so long. The cast on is pretty interesting – cast on, don’t join, knit 6 rows in each of the three colors. On the seventh, you twist the left needle completely around every four stitches. Neat, eh?

IMG_1929

I really like Devon – the colors I chose are Cocoa, Café au Lait and Ballerina. Its hard to tell from the pictures, but the main fair isle is pink and brown. Its easier to tell by looking at the balls. When I was working it under artificial light, the pink looks white, but in daylight its definitely pink.
IMG_1932

Devon is really nice – soft and just nice to work with. And it says its unshrinkable. I think I may end up getting a little more in the future!

I had knitting group yesterday, and had a very good time. A lot of talk about going to Stitches East next week….I’m driving down with hopefully two friends from the group. We are thinking about staying over, but we need to coordinate work and hotel. I think its going to be a lot of fun.

Well, off to Jenny Craig – I hope I lost this week – its been a while since I have.

8 Responses to Canada Socks

  1. AR says:

    OOh! That looks great! I like the color combo, too. That cast on sounds weird, but wow, what a neat look.
    Good luck at JC!

  2. Terri says:

    Very interesting! Great effect. The colours are really nice too. Should make a lovely pair of socks. Looking forward to seeing this one done. You’ve piqued my interest!

  3. tiennie says:

    Beautiful colors! I’d love to use those colors in a sweater. Beautiful fair isle too!

  4. Opal says:

    Lovely colours. I think I’m going to have to break down and get that book one of these days. I keep seeing such gorgeous socks from the patterns in that book.

  5. lobstah says:

    Ooh, those are going to be so pretty! I love the pink and brown, perfect combo!

  6. Rebekah says:

    Oh it looks like a great pattern. I’ve really wanted to do some fair isle socks lately, but I have so much hand-painted and self-striping sock yarn I can’t justify another sock purchase currently.

  7. desiknitter says:

    This cast on is very interesting, indeed! Have to try it. I love the colour combo, btw. Looking fwd to seeing the full sock!

  8. Amber says:

    Such pretty socks! And, that cast-on is cool!

Leave a Reply

