Rhinebeck

Let me start by saying that I didn’t take any pictures yesterday. I brought my camera, it was a beautiful day, and Rhinebeck had lots of picture opportunities. But I didn’t take one. In fact, I forgot about it and only remembered after we left. I think part of the reason was that I was overwhelmed. And cranky. But apparently my blogging skills need some work.

We left late (10:30) because of a confusion over plans for Cieara (we need to get Cieara to confirm a.m. or p.m. when she’s making plans – her friend expected her at 10 p.m. not a.m….sigh). The drive up to Rhinebeck took about 2.5 hours, and it was beautiful – lots of really nice fall colors. By the time we got there, I was hungry and starting to get cranky. It was packed – it seemed much more crowded than Maryland S&W. I went through the first two buildings, and it was terrible – most of the time you couldn’t get anywhere near what they were selling. By the time we got out of the second one, I was full blown cranky. So we decided to eat – Larry waited in line while I checked out some outdoor vendors, and then we waited together. It seemed to take hours, but we finally got something to eat, and I started to feel better.

I had written a list of what I wanted to buy – blocking wires, sock yarn for me and my mother, and then yarn for four shawls (two laceweight, two fingering). I ended up not buying much from the list. Couldn’t find any laceweight or fingering I liked; what I did find was very expensive – it sort of seemed much more expensive than Maryland. I’ve seen most laceweight come in skeins of 400-500 yds+….at Rhinebeck it was in skeins of around 200 yards. And the prices seemed consistent at $35-40/200 yds. That makes a shawl that needs 1200 yards a bit pricey. I guess I would have been ok totally blowing a lot of money for one if I had found something I liked, but it was all pretty just bleh – so either I wasn’t in the mood, or the crowd kept me from the perfect yarn.

I did find some great roving though….

IMG_1868
On the left: Alpaca/Silk blend…its so nice! On the right – wool blend – the colors are beautiful!

IMG_1869
Top and middle – superwash roving…dark blue for Larry, autumn colors for me
Bottom – merino/tussah blend…so silky!

And of course, some sock yarn….
IMG_1875
Clockwise from left:
Left: Sock yarn from Ellen’s Half Pint Farm
Top: Shelridge Soft Touch Ultra Heather in Highland Mist
Middle: More sock yarn from Ellen’s Half Pint Farm
Bottom: More Shelridge Soft Touch

I also saw a Golding spinning wheel – it was beautiful. Someone there said she had one and loved it. They really do look great – maybe someday. I thought about buying a Golding spindle, but I really don’t know how to use one, so I decided to wait. But they are so beautiful, I just want one to look at! We also saw a Strauch drum carder – almost bought it but the people buying one in front of us took so long we wandered off. I am going to buy one though – I think I’d be much more open to buying fleeces if I didn’t have to hand card it.

Larry and I also checked out the food and wine building, and bought 4 great bottles of NY state wine. We left around 5, got home at 8, and went out to dinner at the restaurant near our house. All in all, it was a good day. We got to spend some time together, and it was really a beautiful fall day. I can see why people spend two days at these things, though – its just so much I wish I had a second day to go through again. Maybe I’d be less cranky this time!

I’m almost done the first diagonal cable sock, and have been working on some dishclothes too. I really want to finish all of my current projects and cast on for the next bunch. I am hoping to get some good knitting and spinning time today, so hopefully I can finish something! I want to start a new pair of socks with some of the new yarn, and also the Kimono shawl. I have so many projects to do….so little time to do them in, though.

Dave from Cabin Cove posted this yesterday….I crack up everytime I see it.

WhoBroughtKitty
It was edited….more info here.

8 Responses to Rhinebeck

  1. Opal says:

    The laceweight yarn does sound pricey. I love the sock yarn you got. That picture with the cat had me laughing! Thanks for including the editng information because my first thought was “oh no! poor cat!”

  2. Rebekah says:

    Wow that sounds really high for lace-weight yarn. I wouldn’t have bought either, if I had not been in love with it.

    At least you got some gorgeous roving and sock yarn.

    I’m not a big one for crowds myself, especially if it makes shopping non enjoyable, and I’m hungry. I always bring snacks with me if I know I migth be in a crowded situation, because if I get hungry I get cranky.

    That is a hilarious picture.

  3. tiennie says:

    Looks like you had fun and got some great yarn too!

  4. Jen says:

    Awesome! I’m so jealous you went to Rhinebeck! Would love to meet so many bloggers in person. Great picture too — that’s hilarious. Of course, more accurate to show the cat gouging clawmarks in the kids in its haste to get away!

  5. Amber says:

    Looks like you got some nice stuff. I’m so jealous of everyone who got to go to Rhinebeck!

    The boat photo is hysterical!

  6. Terri says:

    You managed to bring home a very nice haul despite not being able to get the yarn for your shawls. Thanks for sharing the cat photo. It cracked me up too. :o)

  7. aija says:

    Sounds like a great time, congrats on the self restraint 🙂 (I love the look of the Highland Mist Shelridge yarn!)

  8. lobstah says:

    Looks like you found some pretty things even though the laceweight was ridiculously overpriced. The sock yarn looks especially lush! That cat picture is sooo funny (though I’m glad it is fake!)

Leave a Reply

