Family Weekend – UMD

Larry, Cieara and I left Friday for Family Weekend at University of Maryland. I suppose the intent of it is to see the child you haven’t seen since you dropped them off in August, and to spend time at the campus in order to be able to relate to the experience your child is having. Good idea (although we’ve seen Andrew once since we dropped him off, and he’ll be home again in two weeks). However, ours didn’t go quite as planned.

Andrew had been sort of pokey on helping to pick things, so we had registered a bit late for this so we didn’t get into any of the events on campus. But no problem. One of the events was a bus trip to the Smithsonian in Washington, DC. It was sold out, but we decided that we’d do it on our own. The train is very close to where Andrew lives, so we’d just take a train in, see the museums, and have dinner in DC. Then the plan was on Sunday to have brunch, take Andrew grocery shopping and then head home.

We got in Friday night a bit late – traffic was terrible. But we went out to dinner with Andrew, and then back to the hotel. Saturday we woke up bright and early…ready to go….and Cieara was sick. So we couldn’t go. We finally went to Andrew’s and left Cieara sleeping there. We decided to go to a local yarn shop (really – it was totally Andrew’s idea!), and then we took him to the mall for clothes shopping, and then finished up with grocery shopping. Cieara was feeling better by then (which was good because she felt so miserable to be missing out on everything), so we decided to go to the movies. We decided that since we had done all of the Sunday activities, we’d head home early, so we got home around noon.

Although it wasn’t what we had planned, we did have a good time with Andrew, and it was nice to talk to him, and find out how he’s doing. I think he’s doing well – this is such an adjustment. But he seems happy, and he’s doing well in school. We’ll have to try the Smithsonian thing another time….but all in all, a good weekend. I had my camera…and didn’t take one picture. Normally I take pictures everywhere, but I realized after we left Andrew last night that I didn’t take one. Doh!

Driving to Maryland takes at least 4 hours, so I had pretty good knitting time in the car. I worked on the glovelets, and finished them up. I love them (in fact, I’m wearing them right now – not actually cold, but I like them). I really do like Rowan Cashsoft – its really amazing yarn.
IMG_1854

The pattern is from Green Mountain Spinnery and is called Eric’s Glovelets. However, I changed the pattern a bit – it actually had a palm in reverse stockinette – didn’t like it so I did the cable all the way up. But a fast knit, and they are comfy and warm. I’ll appreciate these on the train.

The yarn store we visited (I wish I had a picture of Andrew sitting on the couch in the store – I think he was 2 seconds away from falling asleep) was Wool Winders in Rockville, MD. Nice little store. I picked up some Cashsoft to make Cieara a pair of glovelets (just about done the first one) in a beautiful red. I also picked up Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran to make Fetching (Christmas present so can’t say for who).

I also picked up sock yarn – this is Cherry Tree Hill in Cabin Fever…I’m going to make Larry a pair of Diagonal Rib Socks. I initially was going to use a skein of Scheaffer Anne – but I had a problem balling it – I don’t know what happened, but it exploded on the swift and now its just one big knot. Ugh. Its back in the stash until I find the strength to deal with it. So I bought the new yarn to make the pattern….I love the colors – very autumnal.

IMG_1862

So that was my weekend. Good times with the family, lots of knitting time, and stash enhancement. All in all, very good weekend!

5 Responses to Family Weekend – UMD

  1. Rebekah says:

    Sounds like a lovely time, so sorry your daughter was sick.

  2. Linda B says:

    Best wishes for Cieara. Here’s hoping 4 no more illness this school year. And congrats Mama on a well-done weekend! Andrew’s a doll to suggest yarn surfing! Your CH yarn would sure cure my cabin fever;)

  3. AR says:

    Sounds like a pretty good weekend. Sorry for Cieara, though. Nice glovelettes, and yarn!

  4. Opal says:

    So sorry to hear that Cieara was sick. Your glovelettes turned out so lovely though.

  5. KnitXcorE says:

    don’t you adore Cherry Tree hill yarns???

Leave a Reply

