Birthday loot….

Thank you everyone for the birthday wishes! It was very nice to get them all. My birthday was very nice – fast, though. I met Larry and the kids at a local restaurant (Mediterranean Bistro) around 6:30. We had a very nice dinner….no one was there when we first got there, but it filled up. Going out to dinner with Dan is nice because he talks, unlike the other kids (who just shrug and grunt). After dinner (which ended with a very good chocolate cake), we went home and opened presents.

IMG_1827

I was definitely spoiled this year. Larry bought me music, books, jewelry and clothes. One of the things he bought was a beautiful sweater…..loved it. And then I looked closely at it and started laughing….
IMG_1833

Notice the third row? No? How about a picture of the inside….

IMG_1839

Yep, they did the last row of the fair isle inside out. This is a Tommy Hilfiger sweater…you’d think they would have a bit more quality control, eh? Larry observed that a few years ago, I wouldn’t have noticed or known it was wrong – but now that I’m a knitter…! Cieara tried to tell me that it was done on purpose and supposed to be that way….I really hope not – that would be pretty bad. So its back in the bag, with the receipt, waiting to be returned. Hopefully the whole rack isn’t this way.

Dan was very pleased with his gift to me….

IMG_1832

He looked at my Amazon.com wish list but decided those books were “boring”. He bought me this because he felt it was more interesting. He was pretty cute – kept on saying “look at page 190” or “look at page 179”. I guess he really did look through the book before buying it! He also wants me to make him several of the patterns …

Cieara gave me Bath and Body Works stuff – which I love – she always picks the nicest scents. She also gave me a pair of jeans, which I really needed.

My mother sent me a gift…
IMG_1840

Its the shawl she started when she was visiting in June. The yarn is Rowan Yorkshire Tweed 4 ply, and the pattern is Grandma’s Checkerboard Lace from Knitters Shawls and Scarves. Its beautiful and I love it. I was shocked when I opened it – the box was light so I assumed yarn (well, its yarn, but you know what I mean).

IMG_1841

I like this so much I think I’m going to knit one too! All in all, a very good birthday. Isn’t it a shame they only come once a year?

8 Responses to Birthday loot….

  1. stitch-dom says:

    I’m so glad you got spoiled!! You’ve gotta love a guy who checks out the patterns and chooses what he wants…most men just want basic black, dark green or navy blue with absolutely NO bells or whisles of anykind (including say, a cable or rolled neckline). Take care and try to stretch out that celebration as long as you can get away with it!

  2. Terri says:

    Belated Happy Birthday greetings to you Jeanne! Sounds like you had a terrific day. Love the shawl your mother knitted you. Wow, that’s a wonderful gift. You know how much work went into that. :o)

  3. Poshyarns says:

    Oh what lovely birthday things. That shawl is gorgeous, I love Yorkshire Tweed and have some grey in stash, looking at your shawl is making me wonder if that could be their destiny, it looks so lovely and light yet warm.

    He chose a knitting book by himself??? Wow, he is gold dust. That is such a lovely thoughtful thing to do.

  4. Rebekah says:

    okay that is hilarious about the sweater. It has to be a mistake, but I bet it’s the whole lot and not that one sweater. I’m sure these have to be mass produced on machine of some sort.

    I’ll be interested to see what happens.

    Your mom’s shawl present is gorgeous.

  5. KnitXcorE says:

    Sweet gifts!!! us crazy knitters! a “normie” never would’ve realized the fair-isle was backwards… LOL! the shawl your mom made is beautiful 🙂

  6. OzKnitter says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Jeanne! Seems like you had a fabulous time :o)

    That sweater is weird! Have you had a chance to take it back yet? What’d they say?

  7. Amber says:

    That is so funny about the sweater!

    Glad you had a good b-day. The shawl your mom sent you is beautiful!

  8. I saw a woman at a Christmas cocert wearing that sweater!! I sat behind her and was starting and staring! I couldn’t figure out why anyone would buy a sweater with part of it knit inside out, but then my cousin showed up at my house with an entire hat knit inside out! I asked about it and she showed me the inside where the tag was, it was purposefull ymade that way…. I just don’t understand.

Leave a Reply

