Making progress

No pictures right now – its just too early. And I missed a good picture opportunity last night….I worked on Eric’s Glovelets Sunday night – what a fast knit! I was pretty much up to the cast off point, and just had the thumb to work. But ….I didn’t like it. The pattern called for a baby cable until the start of the thumb increase. Then you worked half of the stiches in reverse stockinette and the rest in the baby cable. At the same time, the thumb gusset was increased by doing M1. I guess the reverse stockinette was for the palm. But it just looked weird. And the M1 left holes (even though I did the stitch in the way that said no holes). When I got home last night, I ripped it back. Should have taken a picture – just looked terrible – holey and weird. I decided that I’d do the cables all the way up all around the hand. And I’m using a different method for increasing. I love the Cashsoft though – this is really great yarn.

I turned the heel and am working down the foot on my second handspun sock. I really can’t believe how much knitting I get done on the train. I sat next to someone yesterday that apparently didn’t like my knitting (it wasn’t like I was poking him). He kept on shifting around, and muttering. Too bad!

I’m driving to work today because we are going out to dinner tonight, so I want to try to get home a little earlier. We are going out because its my birthday! I got up this morning and had a heart attack…someone put up a birthday banner on our slider. At 4:30 in the morning, it startled me, but it was a sweet thought (I’m guessing Dan). I got an e-card from Andrew which was a surprise – I was sure he’d forget. Such a drag to work on your birthday, isn’t it? I think staying home knitting would be a much better time!

Have a great day!

9 Responses to Making progress

  1. Yarngirl says:

    “clearing throat”

    Happy Birthday to YOUOOOOOO, Happy Birthday to YOUOOOOOOO,
    Happy BirthDAYYYY Dear Jeanneeeeeee,

    Happy Birthday, toooooo youooooooo!

    Enjoy! Have a lovely dinner – Where ya goin?

  2. AR says:

    Happy birthday!! I hope it’s really great. Enjoy your dinner out.

  3. KnitXcorE says:

    HaPPy BirThDAY!!! sorry, i’ve fallen off the comment boat… but I’m getting back into the swing of things….

  4. Amber says:

    Happy Birthday!!!

  5. aija says:

    Happy birthday!

  6. lobstah says:

    Happy birthday, Jeanne!

  7. stitch-dom says:

    Hope you had a great day and wonderful dinner Jeanne!

    I’m gonna brag now: I always have my birthday off…cause I work for the government and Remembrance Day (Veterans day) is a statutory holiday. It also means that I NEVER get a birthday celebration at work.

    On balance…I wouldn’t change a thing!

    Happy birthday!!!!

  8. Opal says:

    Happy Birthday Jeanne!

  9. Susan says:

    Happy Birthday Jeanne! Hope it was a great dinner. Don’t those “boys” surprise ya by remembering their moms?

Leave a Reply

