New project?

I went to Jenny Craig yesterday morning – I hadn’t gone in two weeks since its been so busy. I gained .5 pounds. Hmmm….well, that’s ok, I suppose – life happens, eh? After that, we took Cieara and her friends to the mall. I went to Macys to buy some new work clothes. And guess what? I’m down a size! I haven’t worn a size 12 in years – a large number of years. I tried on 14’s, but they just seemed baggy, so I tried the 12 and was amazed. And ….I’m a medium in shirts/sweaters! Wow – I’ve worn XL for so long, that it felt weird to buy anything else. I think part of the problem is that I typically wear things that are loose and baggy….so wearing something that isn’t that way seems wrong. I’m so excited, though – its a huge motivator to continue. I have noticed that even when I’m not eating JC food, I am very much aware of what I’m eating and portion size. So I think its working.

So what does all this have to do with a new project? Well, I bought a coat to wear to work (size Medium!). Its a raincoat of sorts with a zippered in lining for when it gets cold. I love it. Just my type of thing. And I think that having fingerless gloves would be perfect – I can still knit on the train, but keep my hands warm. Eventually, I need to make a scarf too, but for now, I’ll focus on the gloves.

So last night, I went on the ‘net and looked for patterns. I can’t believe how many there are – some beautiful, so bleh. There were several nice ones that are knit straight and then seemed – yuck – I would rather knit in the round and not have to seam at the end. So I kept going and found Fetching, Voodoo, a Flashdance version, a beautiful Fair Isle set (I do want to make this pattern), lace ones….and that’s just a very short list of what’s out there. It was sort of overwhelming. I decided on a pattern, and went to look for yarn. I needed worsted weight, so I looked at my yarn inventory spreadsheet (which really is out of date), and decided to use some Elann Highland wool I have. Next up – size 8 DPN. Ugh. Nope, I have every other size, but not that. Grrr. Back to looking. I finally started looking in my knitting books, and found a pattern in the Green Mountain SpinneryEric’s Glovelets; they use DK weight yarn and size 3 needles. Perfect – I have both. So I’m going to start them this morning, using some Rowan Cashsoft I have in the stash. I have enough to make the fingerless gloves and a scarf, so its perfect. I didn’t want to start a new project until I had finished something, but these won’t take long (and are perfect commute knitting!). I also want to make Cieara a pair for Christmas – maybe Fetching – so these will be a good start.

IMG_1825

Its a beautiful day here – I am going to clean out my closet and then knit. Hope you have a nice relaxing day wherever you are!

6 Responses to New project?

  1. AR says:

    Congrats on smaller clothes! I love the yarn you chose for your glovelets and scarf.

  2. Amber says:

    Congrats on the weight loss!

    Can’t wait to see the fingerless gloves and scarf. I love that color blue!

  3. Congratulations on your weight loss! x

  4. KnitXcorE says:

    i love CAshSoft!!! I’m so sad I wasted mine on those knucks 😦

  5. Rebekah says:

    Yeah! Congrats on going down a pant size. Can’t wait to see how your accessories knit up for your new coat.

  6. Opal says:

    Congratulations on the size down! I’m glad you found a good commute project too.

Leave a Reply

