Commuting

I love this

IMG_1814
NJ Transit Monthly Pass

because it leads to this

IMG_1817

My total train time is a little over an hour. The first day I took the train was my second day of work, and I was too stressed to really knit – worrying about the job, where I got off/on, etc. But now that I’m into the routine, I have to say that its really good knitting time. I listen to my iPod – podcasts, music, CNN news (who knew!), and just get into a zone. I think I really like this!

The sock is knit out of my handspun yarn; its very thick and I think it will be a great sock on a cold winter’s day….I can see wearing it in front of the fire. I actually started this a while ago, but just didn’t do much on it….but 4 days of commuting by train finished it.
I love my new job – really! I’m still getting used to it, and learning about everything but overall I think this was a good move. My new manager is really great, and for the most part, the people that work for me are very nice.
The only downside is that I leave at 6:15 in the morning and get home at 7:15 at night. I haven’t really figured out the routine yet, so I haven’t been knitting a lot when I get home. And I haven’t spun at all. Sigh…
So what’s on my needles?
  • The second sock to match the one above (well, I’ll start it this morning),
  • I started the second Embossed Leaves sock finally and just started the pattern
  • Maple Leaves scarf – I’m about 1/2 way done – I was thinking about taking this on the train, but I’m not sure I can do lace on it….but I may try – I think it would be good commute knitting
  • I’ve been slowly working on Na Craga – mostly on the weekends. I love this pattern

I’m fighting the urge to start a shawl….I think I’m going to do the Kimono shawl from Folk Shawls next, and I really want to start it. But I promised myself that I would finish the lace scarf before starting another lace project…..and I do want to finish some of the other things.

I haven’t bought yarn in weeks! I’m tempted because Sophie’s Toes just put up some beautiful new colors…but I’m going to Rhinebeck and I want to save my money for that. And I really don’t need more sock yarn. I must have enough to make 30-40 pairs of socks.

OK, I’m off! Have a great day.

5 Responses to Commuting

  1. AR says:

    Yay for commuting/knitting time! Your sock is great. It really does look warm.

  2. Rebekah says:

    Oh I wish I commuted by train, it’s be so advantageous to my knitting. But alas, no trains here, and only a 10 mile drive anyway.

  3. stitch-dom says:

    This might sound funny – but sometimes I take the long bus route so I can knit.

  4. LindaB says:

    So happy to hear about your first week! I loved commuting to Nwk via train, esp. in the winter. Sounds like your new job was worth the search? (They’re lucky you waited for them!) Your own spun yarn is now sock #1…did you ever imagine you’d have such a passion?! Happy Birthday weekend!!
    Linda

  5. Opal says:

    I’m so happy to hear you are enjoying your new job and the commute!

Leave a Reply

