Winding down

You know, going to work when you don’t like where you work is very difficult. I’ve been struggling with that for a while now. However, I’m finding out – going to work when you don’t like where you work and where you only have a few days to go is much harder! Everyday I want to just not go to work. I have 5 days left. I’m taking Friday off, and trying to take off Monday as well – which would leave me 3 days. And I don’t really plan to stick around for for the whole day on my last day. But I have to say – although its hard to get there, being there is a lot better knowing that I don’t have to be there – in fact, this time next week I will be done! Its been difficult not to giggle and smile – I didn’t want to bum out my co-workers by acting all giddy, so I was trying to contain it, but I keep on just laughing at things. I bet they can’t wait for me to go too! They are having a party for me this Saturday night – how nice is that? I’m looking forward to it – I do work with a great group of people, and will miss them.

I got home from work to find another box. I’m starting to think I have a problem….I think I need Yarn Anonymous. Really. No, really – I have a yarn addiction. I suppose there are worse addictions to have, but its bad when I blank out for a minute on what I ordered.

I opened the box, rummaged around…hmmm..what the heck did I order all this lace weight for? Oh, that’s right. The Kimono Shawl from Folk Shawls. I couldn’t make up my mind so I ordered a couple…

IMG_1781

This is Knit Picks Shimmer in Turquoise Spelendor – 70% baby alpaca, 30% silk. I love this. The colors are great, and its soft. I’m not sure about it for the Kimono though…

IMG_1784

This is Knit Picks Shadow in Sunset. 100% Merino. Love this one – the color is a bit darker than the picture. Very autumnal. I think this is the one for the Kimono Shawl!

IMG_1786

This is Knit Picks Alpaca Cloud in Mist. 100% baby alpaca. I’m sort of “eh” on this one – I think it would probably make a nice shawl, but I like brighter colors. This is very very very pale purple.

I also bought a set of Knit Picks US #1 DPN’s – I can’t wait to use them. I think I love them. I tried metal DPN’s before but they were so heavy they kept on falling out of the stiches. These seem as light as bamboo. Love them! I also bought the little tool bag from the KIPer Knitting bag line – I wanted to see the fabric. I’m not sure I’d like using this as a purse, but I think the concept is nice. Just would rather have other fabric options.

So other than my on-going issues with Dan, I’m feeling pretty good. I have a few too many projects on the needle (and I’m fighting the urge to start the Kimono Shawl), but let’s review what is good in my life right now:

  1. 4, possibly 3 more days in current job
  2. Have Friday off
  3. Going to Nonna’s Yarn Cafe in Denville on Friday to sign up for two classes
  4. Going shopping after that for new work clothes
  5. Party on Saturday
  6. Knitting group on Saturday
  7. Spinning retreat the following weekend
  8. Supportive and wonderful husband at all times
  9. New yarn
  10. This is my 75th post, and I’ve made some really good friends through the blog, and everyone is very supportive.

Life is really good! So I think that I’d like to give back. How about a yarn contest? Just comment and let me know if you are interested in getting….

IMG_1548

Sock yarn from Decentra Designs – Eomund colorway. You in?

5 Responses to Winding down

  1. Terri says:

    Woo! Count me in. LOL. A sock-yarn addict can never have too much sock yarn right?? Right?? I need validation here!! (g)

  2. AR says:

    I was going to comment anyways, but “mmmmmhhhmmm look at that gorgeous sock yarn”. I do *need* more sock yarn!
    Glad you’re almost done at that job.
    All of your new knit picks yarn is pretty, pretty!!

  3. lobstah says:

    Very pretty yarns! And I’m glad that you are able to look on the “sunny side” of things. Sometimes that is hard to do!
    P.S. Count me in for the sock yarn! :b

  4. Amber says:

    Oh yeah, I’m in!! 🙂

    Hope the last few days at work aren’t too bad. I’ve been there with the bad job situation. Enjoy your party!

  5. LindaB says:

    You have great eye for color! Count me in 2 😉

Leave a Reply

