Sock blockers

I got home tonight and found a box! I bought sock blockers from Chappy’s Fiber Arts and Crafts on eBay sometime last month and they finally came!

IMG_1773

They look huge – I ordered a size large as everyone but Cieara has pretty large feet. But these things are huge – I didn’t think that they would fit my socks…but….

IMG_1777

Guess they do! I think these are really perfect for taking blog pictures….they show the patterns very nicely.

IMG_1779

Yesterday I was a bit stressed….I read for a while, but wanted to do something fiber-y (I did spend some time researching Angora rabbits, but still haven’t made a decision). I couldn’t concentrate enough to knit, so I spun. I spun a lot. And I finished the Spunky club fiber.

IMG_1769

212 yards worsted weight. I don’t know how I got worsted – I really do need to figure out how to get a weight on purpose. I have two skeins – one is very small, the other the balance. The smaller skein was very twisted (I forget which way), but the large one was perfectly balanced. No idea how that happened!

IMG_1772

Is it driving you crazy that the lighting is so different in these pictures? I was using a flash, and sometimes not. Anyway, spinning seemed to help. I found myself relaxing more and more. Except – spinning on the Kromski is great. Plying? Not so much. It kept on getting tangled, and the head wasn’t big enough. I think I like plying on the Lendrum a lot more.

Thanks to everyone for the very supportive comments about the situation with Dan. It really meant a lot, and actually did make me feel better. We have decided to get an attorney; Larry spoke with one today and he thinks he can help. Although I’m still undecided that this is the right thing to do, we know if he loses his license, he’ll really be screwed – and by extension, so will we. So we told him we’d help him work this out – and then he has to get his own place. No excuses, and soon. Its time that I cut the cord, eh? I need to work out my own feelings though – I’m so mad at him and need to let it go. But really – thanks for the support.

Did you see that Chris is having a “steal my button” contest? She makes the nicest pins – I’m going to buy a sheep one for me!

6 Responses to Sock blockers

  1. Emily says:

    Wow, the close up on the leaf sock is beautiful!

    (I am looking forward to seeing the FBS, by the way!)

  2. Gretchen says:

    Ooh. Very pretty socks.

  3. stitch-dom says:

    Sigh…for some reason I can’t see the pics. Probably an issue here rather than there. I’m sure everything is very pretty.

    I’m not even close to spinning a weight on purpose although I find I am getting a bit more consistent. I still can’t spin lace weight though. It all looks nice and thin and then when I ply it and wash it, the bloom brings it up to DK. I’ve been spinning some alpaca top I bought and so far I’m really happy with it. I’m going to dye it after the fact instead of before as I usually do.

  4. AR says:

    I knew I needed sock blockers for some reason. I’d probably never use them for blocking, but for pics–good idea! Those ones are pretty. I like the sheepy cutout. Your socks and yarn look great.

  5. lobstah says:

    Sock blockers are very neat and I think the yarn looks lovely.

  6. Opal says:

    How exciting sock blockers! Gorgeous worsted yarn. Mmm!

Leave a Reply

