Early start

This was my Saturday sky when I woke up this morning

IMG_1728

Is there anything better than waking up at 4:00 a.m. on a Saturday? I tried to go back to sleep, but couldn’t (it could have something to do with the fact that I had two cats squeezing me out of bed).

How about Saturday sky a hour or so later?

IMG_1730

It was sort of pretty out – sun was just starting to come up, and it was misty and quiet. And cold. Fall is definitely coming. I was watching the news and they said it was going to be only in the upper 60’s on Monday. Seems like summer ended so fast!

Getting up early did give me a chance to do some knitting (did you know that at 4:00 a.m. the only thing on TV are infomercials? Yuck. I finally watched the movie “Air Force One”.)

I normally don’t take pictures of a first sock finished….but this is the exception – finished it this morning.

IMG_1734

Isn’t it nice? I still love the pattern and yarn, but I have to say – knitting this is really knitting in a black hole. I can’t believe how long it took to finish one sock. I have been knitting other things, but this just took forever. I think I started these around 8/19. I don’t think its ever taken me so long to do one sock. I’m sort of dreading the second one.

I started another pair of socks this week using the handspun yarn I just finished.

IMG_1731

I’m doing a slipped rib (pattern out of Sensational Knitted Socks) on a #2. The yarn is sport weight, so its making a very heavy, dense material. I think these will be great in the winter. I must say – its very nice to actually knit with yarn I made myself. Its very motivating for me – I want to spin all the time now (but actually haven’t done any this week – what a really bad week its been at work!).

Finally, I managed to do some stash enhancement (sigh – I really need to stop this – I have so much sock yarn).

IMG_1736

On left, Vesper sock yarn in fingering weight – colorway “Strange Little Mam” and on right, Vesper sock yarn in sport/DK weight – colorway “Jungle Boogie”. I bought both from Knitterly Things

Have a great weekend!

7 Responses to Early start

  1. Amber says:

    I love getting up early in the morning when everything is so quiet and peaceful.

    Your sock is absolutely beautiful! I love the pattern and the colors!

  2. I love the “Jungle Boogie” colorway.

    It was nice meeting you and Linda, today.

    See? 2 can play at this stalker thing.

    DARN! I blew my cover, didn’t I?

  3. Yarngirl says:

    Laurie’s not the only stalker around…….had a great time today – delurk sometime and leave a comment here and there on the blog – great photo’s! And 4am??? You didn’t even look a bit tired!

  4. AR says:

    Nice sock. Your yarn colors are great.

  5. Terri says:

    Jeanne your EL sock is wonderful!! Well done!! I do know exactly how you feel about it though. I still haven’t started my second one. Love the colour you knitted it with too. :o)

  6. KnitXcorE says:

    yay for vesper sock yarn 🙂

  7. lobstah says:

    The finished sock is beautiful. Your homespun yarn looks really,really nice.

Leave a Reply

