Spinning Sunday

Yesterday was all about spinning. Everyone left for the day, so it was just me and the dogs and cats. I decided to finish plying my merino/silk blend, and after about an hour…I did!

IMG_1715

I had to do this onto two skeins; this is the biggest one – about 290 yards. For some reason the bobbin just wouldn’t draw, so I had to skein this and start another one. The other skein was much smaller (its drying right now), but I ended up with 278 yards. I used my WPI tool to figure out what weight this is – sport weight. The roving was from Copper Moose, and is a merino/silk blend in the Merlot Mist colorway. Its very pretty – in some light its more purple than blue, but at other times it looks more blue. Larry paid me a really nice compliment when I showed him the yarn – he asked if it was one of the ones I bought this week.

IMG_1716

I was cleaning out my roving stash (yes, I have so much roving I know consider it to be a stash – its in two baskets), and I came across the first thing I ever spun. It made me realize how far I’ve come on this.

IMG_1722

IMG_1723

I still have a way to go – I can’t spin a certain weight on purpose – I end up with whatever I end up with. And I still have some inconsistencies when I spin. But all in all, I think I’m getting much better. I’m looking forward to the class with Rita Buchanan at the Fibre Fallout – I’m sure I’m going to learn a lot.

As far as the Merlot Mist sportweight….I decided that I’m going to make a pair of socks. I think the Friday Harbor socks from Knitting on the Road by Nancy Bush will be beautiful. The gauge lines up, and I’m going to start them today. I’m pretty excited – this will be the first thing I’ve even done with hand spun.

Enjoy your Labor Day in the US, and your Monday everywhere else!

2 Responses to Spinning Sunday

  1. Opal says:

    Gorgeous yarn. You’ve come a long way from that first batch. 🙂

  2. Poshyarns says:

    That merino/silk looks gorgeous and perfect to my eye.

    I am hoping to learn to spin this year but my first attempts so far have been very poor.

Leave a Reply

