Ahhh…yarn….

I’ve been moping around this week worrying about and missing Andrew. But sometimes there are things that just make me feel a little bit better…

How about yarn?
IMG_1681

This is sock yarn from Black Bunny Fibers in the Zinnias colorway. This makes me happy just looking at it. Carol hand-dyes the yarn, and its really beautiful in person. There is also a Hopalong for this yarn – I haven’t joined yet, but I’m thinking about it. I usually check her shop every couple of weeks….I just looked and it looks like she was wiped out! There is only one skein of yarn left…hmmm…maybe I shouldn’t post this as I sort of like the yarn, and don’t want competition for it!

I also got roving from Spunky Eclectic – I bought two different ones, but I’ll show them another time. Its getting dark here and I just can’t get a good picture. When I was on the site, I noticed a fiber of the month offering…so of course I signed up. I also got my August roving with the order….its beautiful.

IMG_1693

This picture doesn’t do it justice (and that’s why I didn’t take the others). Its beautiful shades of blue and green. I couldn’t wait to spin the roving I got, but my Lendrum is busy with plying up the merino blend…so I started this on the Kromski.

IMG_1698

I can’t believe what a difference a wheel makes – I had a much harder time on the Kromski. I haven’t spun on it in months, and just couldn’t control it. Its a double drive wheel; I think after spinning on it, and comparing it to the Lendrum, I’m going to convert it to Scotch tension. I think that will make it easier to control and give me better results.

We’ve heard from Andrew, and I think he’s starting to settle in. He had his first day of classes today, so I hope it went well. I still am a little mopey, but its starting to feel less strange in the house.

I currently have a pair of socks, and a shawl on the needles….but I was getting pretty bored, so I started something new. Its a lace scarf, and I’ll post pictures next time. And hopefully I’ll be done the shawl soon, so I can start a new “big” project.

6 Responses to Ahhh…yarn….

  1. Allena says:

    so sorry you’re feeling blue!
    the yarn does help. i love the bright colors. the roaving is beautiful too! i’ve only got a drop spindle but i’d love to master that and then tackle a spinning wheel.
    hope you’re doing better glad you got to hear from andrew!

  2. Amber says:

    Ahhhh, gorgeous! See, this is why I have trouble not buying yarn! It’s not my fault, is it? 😉

    Glad to hear Andrew is settling in and you’re adjusting to the change.

  3. KnitXcorE says:

    yarn therapy is the best kind!!! love it 🙂

  4. LindaB says:

    Was just going to email you to see how Mamasita was getting along since youngest son has spread his wings. So glad to see fiber therapy at work! Occurs to me with your penchant for fiber, & understanding of things mechanical, that you would be a great weaver…just what you needed to hear, right?! another machine, another reason to spin & stash…m’bad 😉

  5. victoria says:

    Don’t you just love the roving from Spunky Eclectic? I just ordered some more yesterday because I so loved the handpainted merino I spun from her! Truly a pleasure to spin….
    As for kids going off to school–my oldest is a senior in HS this year and I am dreading her going away!!!!!

  6. Susan says:

    How is it going with the son away? Mine came in late last night for a first weekend home bringing lots of laundry. Oh joy, just want I wanted!

Leave a Reply

