Looking for yarn….

I wrote a post earlier this week, but didn’t post it. I have a really bad habit of leaving my camera on and draining the batteries…..and we didn’t have batteries in the house (actually, I did have them but they somehow disappeared – thanks, Andrew!). So I didn’t post pictures of my Embossed Leaves socks – will do that tomorrow. They look really great – I love the pattern.

I was showing Larry the socks (he’s got the whole “wow, those are really nice” thing down very well by now), and he mentioned that he really likes the pattern. I thought it was too girly for him, so I remembered seeing socks that would fit him better – Here There Be Dragon Socks by Theresa (Keyboard Biologist). I bought the pattern but don’t have yarn for it in the stash (amazing – I have a full tub of sock yarn and nothing that I think goes with the pattern).

I started looking around, and I just can’t find yarn that I like for it. I checked out Sophie’s Toes, Black Bunny Fibers, Cabin Cove, Koigu, Lorna’s Laces. Beautiful yarn, but just not the right green. I think a dark (but not too dark) green would be best, but most of the greens I’m seeing are bright, spring-y yarns. So I kept looking – Simply Socks, Knit Picks (they did have some in Essential, but it just seems so blah), Socks that Rock…. still nothing. I think a possibility might be Sock! in Sage, but just not sure.

Funny – I don’t think I’ve ever had this much trouble finding the right yarn for something. Maybe I just wasn’t in the mood last night…hard to believe! So, any ideas?

2 Responses to Looking for yarn….

  1. aija says:

    That’s really cool he likes the pattern, I like it a lot too (I bought it, sitll haven’t decided on yarn either!)

    Have you seen a pic of Cara’s “palette sampler” solids from Blue Moon Fiber Arts? She has other great pics of other STR on her blog but this one’s great for a little solid inpiration:
    http://www.januaryone.com/archives/2006/06/the_palette_log_cabin.php

    I’m coveting the purples 🙂 but am going to be good and thin the stash, instead. Good luck on your search!

  2. Theresa says:

    Is the “Beryl” colorway of STR too dark for what you are looking for? It’s the color that I used for the original in the pattern.

    Another yarn you might want to check out is Sleeping Dragon… they have a colorway called “Mossy Frog” that is a nice green mix.

Leave a Reply

